Happy Spicy Hermit Cookie Day (11/15)

Who knew??

It turned out that my assumptions about what National Spicy Hermit Cookie Day would yield were way off! This was based on several false assumptions, the most grave of which was that “spicy,” in this context, does not refer to a teaspoon of cayenne powder and a few shakes of Tabasco Sauce. Spicy today just means all those other canisters on the spice rack.

Another thing that threw me was the word hermit. Now, of course I know that a hermit is a crazy old myzer who lives by himself in a cave or cabin far away from any human interaction, but since I grew up in the Southern tip of Florida, nine times out of ten, when the word hermit was spoken, it was referring to those crazy little beach crabs that are masters in the housing market.

Spicy Cookies… Just not Hermit Cookies

Both of these assumptions were, of course, wrong, and so it was also that my hermit cookies were completely wrong. I did consult several recipes for instruction on  how to make them, and most of them did instruct to poor the badder into a square pan and cut them into squares when done, but since I halved the recipe, I didn’t have enough to do that, so I just made some little hermit crab shaped cookies on a cookie sheet and baked them up.

Come to find out while they’re baking, that a Spicy hermit Cookie is very specifically square, very necessarily thin, and most certainly full of raisins. The “hermit” part of the name is thought to be due to a religious bunch of Bohemian immigrant in the Pennsylvania and the Carolinas who were known to as Herrnhutters, that made little spiced square cookies. Later, in perfect American fashion, herrnhutters, was completely shortened and botched to Hermit.

After this realization was made too late, I scrambled to try to use the rest of the badder the right way, but it was too late. Now I didn’t have enough to pour into any kind of square anything. I made an attempt in my littlest corningware dish, but it just didn’t work out. Oh, well.

Let’s just all call this a lesson learned and move on, can we? I’m really a bit embarrassed that I didn’t do the leg work beforehand.

I’ll see you on the 23rd for National Cashew Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

