National Pistachio Day (1/26)

Huge fan of the nut.  Huge!  So, January 26th looked like it was going to be a slam dunk with a 99 cent bag of pistachios.  I actually got to Walgreens and was staring at the bag, when I remembered, pistachios are kind of funky.  There’s a bitter taste to that Pac-man looking green nut that always seems to attack my mouth right as I start to discover the sweet flavor that admittedly is in there.

So what were my options?  A biscotti maybe?  Salad bars sometimes have pistachios, but I really don’t like nuts in my food.  I’m kind of a purist when it comes to the nut.  I sat and stared at the bag of pistachios for a minute or two, realizing this was going to be harder than I thought.  Saturday, January 28th is Blueberry Pancake Day, though, so I knew I had to make it till then.

I think it was that sweet thought of pancakes that allowed me see my obvious answer.  Pistachio ice cream.  Pudding would have worked too.  Aww, man!  That really would have worked, dammit!

Now, pistachio ice cream and pudding is really only delicious to me because of all the sugar and cream in which the 8-10 nuts are encompassed, but to try to get as close as I could to authentic pistachio ice cream,

Pistachio Ice Cream With Toppings

I went to a place called Lofty Pursuits, which is a local establishment that also sells kites and other pure kid toys, but to the point, it’s a genuine real deal ice cream shop that makes their own whipped creams, candies, egg creams and they actually carry Guinness flavored ice cream which is just a real trip!

In the end I had my January 26th food of the month topped with whipped cream and chocolate cookie crumbles, so I’m really not sure the pistachio was done a huge service today, but you know what?  I read “How to Eat Fried Worms” and even Billy had to start with chocolate covered ones.

So here’s the short of it: Ice cream still makes my mouth happy and pistachios still make my mouth mad, and the next time I have one, it will likely be because it was slipped into a party mix.  Bleh!

(Tomorrow the schedule is empty, so I’ll see you Saturday for National Blueberry Pancake Day!)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Pistachio Day (1/26)

  1. Pamela Heath says:

    Hi, Jim! I hope you are still moderating your blog. I came across it while researching for
    National Nut Day (October 22) and of course National Pistachio Day (February 26). We are sorry to hear that you have not had the gourmet effect of pistachios and are enthusiastic to say the least to persuade you back to the virtues of this nut. We are finishing up our Harvest 2012 Pistachio Love promotion. We would love to make sure you receive a complimentary power pack of our pistachios. Please reach me directly for details! Pamela/ARO Pistachios, Inc.

    • Jim Clark says:

      I am currently in the throes of National Nut Day myself! I guess I did come out a little harsh on the pistachio. It was my very first post on this blog… And the 30th. Can you tell me which one is the real National Pistachio Day? I never did figure it out.

      I appreciate your offer and will definitely hit you up on your email. I bet you’ve got the good stuff!

      And Happy National Nut Day! I’ll write on it when I’m done living it.

Leave a Reply

