National Blueberry Pancake Day (1/28)

I occasionally make pancakes for my family.  After all, mixing 1 cup of Aunt Jemima mix, with 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup of milk a few times per month is the least I can do for my family.  But for National Blueberry Pancake Day, I figured I’d go all out and make the things from scratch.

I pulled up a couple of recipes, and they all had the same ingredients, so all I was missing were the blueberries.

Pancakes are not a healthy breakfast, but the good ones just never are.  I certainly didn’t see National Flax cereal Day on the list.  Adding some blueberries to the breakfast seems like a healthy idea.  The Blueberry Council confirms, so that’s good enough for me.

Like I said, all the recipes for pancakes pretty much look the same.  I watched a quick little YouTube video by a girl named ZoeWaits <-video/ingredients<-.  She was quick, concise and kinda fun to watch, but I had to half her recipe. I don’t know why pancake instructions are always for like 12-20 pancakes, even one made by a girl who seems to be making them just for herself.

I screwed up.  The pancake batter was way too thin.  When I flipped them they looked like a bunch of coastal pancake houses standing on blueberry stilts.  After I thickened the batter up a bit though, things worked out pretty good.

But how did they eat, right?  Let me be clear, I am not doing this to learn about cooking new things.  This is about the eating.  So, let me just say, what the hell am I doing not eating blueberry pancakes??  They are awesome!  And juicy?  I mean!  I had to kind of mush the pancakes down with the spatula while they were cooking so they would cook even, this apparently made them all the more juicy.  Admittedly, my daughter was not a huge fan, but that’s only because she doesn’t like blueberries… or anything else really.  She has an aversion to things that have flavor.

The short of it is, these are a definite recommend.  A word of warning while eating these things, though.  Cut around the blueberries not into them.  If you try to fork down through a hot blueberry, you will get gooshed!

(See you Sunday for National Corn Chip Day.)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

