Happy National Corn Chip Day! (1/29)

Corn chips.  How could I mess this one up, right?  My go to move here was to just take the family to a Mexican restaurant for lunch and get full off of chips before my lunch came.  Unfortunately, I’m just not a fan of Mexican food.  Don’t get me wrong, I can down some Taco Bell, but Mexican restaurants all just have the same bland stuff, which is forty different varieties of cheese, beans and ground beef inside a tortilla.  And what is that cheese they use?  It’s just terrible!

I decided to just make a dip for lunch.  When it comes to dip, a wise person once said:

“Oh. Hey, how come people don’t have dip for dinner? Why is it only a snack, why can’t it be a meal, you know? I don’t understand stuff like that.”

Those words were spoken by “Seinfeld’s” David Puddy.  What a great point.  It should be a lunch, and today it was. I call it my 2-layer dip.  It’s a layer of nutritional stuff, beans, onions, tomatoes (w/whole grain corn chips), and a layer of bad for you stuff, sour cream, sharp cheddar cheese and a decent amount of fat.

The trick to having dip for lunch of course is motivation.  It seems like a real process to make dip, like motivating to make a good sandwich.  Just remember that this dip is not going to a work party or a church potluck, it’s going in your belly.  I just combined a can of Taco Bell vegetarian refried beans with a can of Goya black bean soup (the soup makes the dip juicy!).  I combine a little medium salsa in there.  A tablespoon gives it the flavor without the kick.  2+ tblsp start to take it up a notch.  Then just some cheese, onions, tomatoes and sour cream.  Done and done!

Man, I almost forgot that this was National Corn Chip Day!  The corn chip was indeed celebrated today.  I busted out 3-kinds.  Tostitos Multigrain Scoops, Tostitos Roasted Garlic & Black Bean and a regular mini-bag of nacho cheese Doritos.  Of course, when it comes to grab a bag and go, there’s really no beating the standard nacho cheese Dorito (although today I also tried the Tangy Buffalo Wing Dorito at Costco, and that puppy will burn yo’ mouth!

But here’s the short of it.  I’m telling you what man, those Tostitos scoops are as advertised, and awesome!  For a messy dip, there really is no other option.  Of the three, though, those Artisan recipes that Tostitos’ got are great!  They don’t even need a dip, they’re just really good.

(See you Monday for National Crescant Day!)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

