Happy National Croissant Day! (1/30)

Dennis Leary said in his 1992 “No Cure for Cancer” stand up act, that the reason the French people are so rude to Americans is because:

“Years ago, they gave us the ‘cwa-sone.’  ‘LE CWA-SONE?’  And what did we do? We turned it into a croissan’wich, thank you very much.”

Well, I’ll tell you my friend, if putting tasty, heavy cheeses and meats on a light and flaky rolled piece of bread is wrong, I don’t want to be right!  I’ve been on a breakfast diet the past few weeks of carrots, celery and a hard boiled egg, and I’ve got nothing to show for it but extra pounds and high blood pressure, so I was all about a blessed croissan’wich.

No Burger King for me, though.  I picked some big and fresh ones up from Publix’s bakery yesterday evening.  I warmed them, slit them (this was difficult for me because they were so light and fluffy), and inserted some turkey ham and swiss cheese.

Allow me sidebar for a second here, because I need to make a recommend on swiss cheese. Swiss is of course a very biting cheese, and I love it!  I even love the little processed individually wrapped squares.  I’ll just roll ’em up and eat them.  But when it comes to something like a croissant, the normal swiss can be a little overpowering.  Do yourself a favor and try some of this Amish Swiss.  I don’t know if it’s because it’s cut from Longhorn cheese, or it’s just that awesome Amish way, but this cheese is so delicious.  Even if you are a long time non-fan of Swiss, you owe it to yourself to give this a shot.  At the very least, I promise you’ll say, “Hmm.  Not too awful.”

Back to the croissant… or is it a crescent roll?  This was a question that I just could not get clearly  answered from a legitimate source.  There seems to be a lot of debate about it, but the consensus seems to be that crescent rolls are just the Americanized smaller version of the croissant.  Something that is fact, is that France’s Department of Agriculture requires bakeries to declare when their products use pure butter vs. a substitute.  This rule is what eventually led to the straight croissant.  When you see one, that baker is advertising that it was made with real butter.  Consequently, that same baker’s curved croissants are likely made with margarine, so you might want to ask.

As far as health is concerned, Fitness magazine rated an Arby’s ham and cheese croissant at only 275 calories, so I’m looking pretty good there.

I guess the short of it is, I’m not real sure where this little wrinkly lump of starch has been, but at $1 each, there will definitely be a few in my kitchen from now on.

(See you Tuesday for National Popcorn Day!)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

