Happy National Popcorn Day (1/31)

Popcorn is always really easy to come by.  There’s movie theater popcorn, fancy online popcorn, prepackaged bags of popcorn, free popcorn (like I get in the waiting area at Suntire), and of course there’s little boxes of microwavable bags of popcorn.  Oh, there’s also jars of actual corn that you can pop yourself, but let’s get real here.

I wanted to get the fancy stuff, an apparently that can really be a challenge.  It would have been very convenient if I had one of those popcorn stores in the mall, but Tallahassee shut that sucker down last year, and but quick!  In that six months it was open, we clearly stated that we aren’t going to pay $8 for popcorn without first purchasing at least one $15 movie ticket.

Peterbrooke Chocolate Covered Popcorn

Candy stores and chocolatiers are notorious for having delicious popcorn concoctions though, so my first stop of the day was Peterbrooke’s.  It wasn’t very bold, I know, but if my day worked out that I could only get one helping of popcorn, it was going to be chocolate covered popcorn!

Chocolate Covered Popcorn

Of course, Peterbrooke is a chocolatier, so I was not at all irritated that the owners of the establishment looked at me with surprise, and a little bit of concern, when I

Eddie Murphy Wishes a Happy New Year

walked in, calling out, “HAPPY NATIONAL POPCORN DAY!”  Admittedly they may have looked at me that way because I’ve never celebrated the holiday, and so maybe you’re supposed to wish a “Merry National Popcorn Day.”  Man, I must have sounded so stupid!  Like Eddie Murphy in trading places yelling out, “Merry New Year!”

I had also intended to stop into a candy store to opt in on some unnaturally flavored popcorn, but found that we had shut that place down too.  Just as well, I suppose.  They failed warn me about the natural laxative properties of sugar-free chocolate.  I figured it out after a dozen chocolate covered pretzels, though.

Jimmy Clark Unhappy With his Popcorn

I guess it's ok, but that it's 110 Calories should not be the best thing about a bag of popcorn.

My true desire for this holiday was to get a most delicious bag of fresh kettle corn.  It’s sold by a local troop called the Kettle Corn Poppery at every festival and farmer’s market I’ve been to in the past ten years. Turns out, that it is not however, available in stores.  So, I had to settle for a bowl of microwave pop after all.  It was Kettle Corn by Jolly Time, but it’s just not the same.

I guess today I learned that I need to plan ahead better.  I really should have been ordering today’s kettle corn sometime last week.

I’ll see you Wednesday.  It’s National Baked Alaska Day!  (Spoiler: if I can pull off what I’m hoping to pull off, tomorrow I just flat-out win!)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

