Happy National Fettuccine Alfredo Day (2/7)

If you’ve never had the fettuccine alfredo, let me be the first to warn you, this sucker will quite simply make you feel enormous!  We are talking cheese, noodles, butter, cream… noodles. It’s the kind of meal that can only be served with a really big salad and if you’re eating it at a restaurant, don’t have the rolls and don’t look at the dessert menu because you’re not going to want anything on it.

There’s all kinds of jars and mixes that you can use to make this stuff, and trust me, they all do a great job of making you feel just as fat, but having looked at the recipe, it just didn’t look so difficult.  So I thought, “Why not?”

 The thought of the fatty, fat, fat was likely what prompted me to use these garden noodles.  Have you seen these things?  They supposedly contain an entire serving of vegetables in them, whatever that means.  I just knew with the amount of butter and cheese I was going to lay into this sucker, this meal was going to need all the ruffage it could get. 

Now, I’m more of a marinara guy, but the end result was just fine!  The recipe I used didn’t really go into measurements so much, so I think I missed a flavor step somewhere, but that’s ok because there’s nothing worse than realizing you over-salted a meal once it’s done.  I don’t have all kinds of Italian running through me, so I figure I should kind of get a pass on this one anyway, you know?  I can hook you up with some corned beef and cabbage though, brother! 

The short of it is, when it comes to Italian, as long as you slightly over do the cheese and garlic, you’re going to be fine.  The bonus that went with making this recipe was that I was left with a sweet quart of chicken stock, so that tomorrow I’ll be following tonight up with a bit more much needed fiber when I chop up some vegetables and have a fantastic vegetable soup!  Thanks random recipe guy! 

(See you Wednesday for National Molasses Bar Day!  — I’ve never heard of it either)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

