Happy Cream Cheese Brownie Day! (2/10)

Cream Cheese Brownies

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, there is nothing that’s not made better when you add cheese and butter. This entry is going to be really short and sweet (<– see what I did there?), but before we get onto this amazing thing that is in my belly, I feel that it is important to address the negative health consequences of taking an already extremely delicious choclatey dessert, and adding the artery clogging device that we just spread on top of an already extremely unhealthy breakfast not nine hours prior.

The Planet Chocolate

The primary ingredients of a cream cheese brownie are chocolate, butter, cheese, egg and flour.  Let’s start with the chocolate — from a cacao bean, and a bean is a vegetable, cuz!  It’s sweet because of the sugar and it’s texture is from the flour.  Yep, those are grains, partner, something we’re all being told to eat more of.  What about butter and cheese?  And the cow says, “It’s gotta be awesome, it’s from my teet.  Plus you’re getting some vitamins in there, so moo!”  Lastly, the egg.  Who’s going to bash “The Incredible Edible Egg.” (© 2012 American Egg Board. All rights reserved.)?

So basically we’re talking about an all natural food.  Why, the thing might as well be a rice cake.  That’s why I didn’t feel bad about having one at lunch and dinner.  What?

Tasty Pastry had a lot of great looking stuff when I went there for molasses bars, and she did say that she knew how to make them, so I thought they deserved a second shot.  They delivered the fantastic little delights pictured above. For some reason I thought that the cream cheese would have created a cheese cake type effect on the brownie, but it gave more of an extra icing texture.  Since they were already topped with icing, I didn’t really need more.  I mean, I do like icing, but the stuff is just kind of like the bacon of desserts.  It’s really delicious by itself, but when you add too much of it, it just ends up detracting from the principle flavors.

Of course, a brownie is a brownie, and so a brownie’s always gonna be alright with me!

I’m going to try to score one at dinner as well, and if I find it I’ll write-up a compare and contrast.

If not, guess I’ll just see you Saturday for Peppermint Patty Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

