Happy Cream-Filled Chocolate Day (2/14)

When we’re talking about cream-filled chocolate, we’re likely talking about one of three things.

BonBons

The classic bonbon! When you translate the French out of bonbon, you’re basically left with “Yummy Yummy,” so if that is what “Cream-Filled chocolate Day” is about then we’re all good here.  BonBons have a very wide range of definitions, in some circles of France it’s just the word for candy.  When we think of a big lady on the couch being lazy though, it’s these little guys she’s eating.

.

Whitman’s Chocolates

Then we have the chocolates that sit in a box of similar looking candies, arranged in a land mine-like layout that forces you to play a form of Russian roulette between the cream or caramel filled ones and those ones that for some reason are pumped with that alien pinkish goo.  If this is what today’s about, I’m a bit at a loss as to how to celebrate without also celebrating, “Bleh! What the hell is that?” Day.

Hostess Zingers

Finally, that most amazing chocolate cake treat that typically sits on an endcap at 7-Eleven.  You may call them Ring Dings, Devil Dogs, or Zingers, but I just call them “In my belly!”  Growing up, I would pick these over the Twinkie every time, so here I am definitely on board!

So which one is it?  Again, the problem I’m having is that there is no authoritative organization proudly admitting to the declaration of this holiday.  For all I know, it was founded because some big drunk guy stumbled into a New Orleans street, and before passing out smack in the middle of Mardi Gras, face all caked in chocolate and cream, yelled:

“Happy Cream-Filled Chocolate Day ladies!”  Then — THUD!!!

Then, an equally hammered journalist from the Times Picayune who was watching the whole thing, knowing he’d be fired if he didn’t send something in by deadline, scribbled it all into his PDA, along with some literary embellishments, and sent it straight to the presses.

The point is, with a lack of hard information, I really had no choice today but to sample all three.

I have to tell you, it was such a delight to have a Hostess Zinger with milk.  Man, I missed those things!  I felt so connected with my youth, that I had to look in the back seat of my car to make sure it wasn’t crammed with fellow teenagers along for the flight back to campus before the fourth period tardy bell rang. Thankfully, it wasn’t.

BonBons were never really my thing, but I ate a few.  Meh.  Then, in the box of Whitman’s, wouldn’t you know it, I still hit the stupid pink gook one!  What’s wrong with those chocolate companies?  They know damn well you just want chocolate and caramel ones, but they always give you a few of these stupid things anyway!

Thank God for Hostess Zingers!

Incidentally, if you have any information about the origins of National Cream-Filled Chocolate Day, or know of a fourth version of cream-filled chocolate that I neglected to mention here, please don’t hesitate to comment.

(See you Wednesday for National Gumdrop Day!)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Cream-Filled Chocolate Day (2/14)

  1. Back in the day of your parents, even the local movie theaters sold ice cream BonBons … Oh, yeah, now THAT is what a TRUE BonBon is for moi!

Leave a Reply

