Happy National Chocolate Mint Day! (2/19)

Let me just get this out of the way right up front.  I’m aware that a lot of people were celebrating National Wine Day yesterday. In fact, I partook in a few glasses myself.  But, there are many other lists of different pretend holidays, and that one simply didn’t show up on mine.  I’ve committed to this list.  It has no credibility, merit, or authoritative citation behind it, but it’s mine and I love it! 

That being said, today is National Chocolate Mint Day.  I believe that it will one day be discovered that where a person’s preference lies on chocolate mint is a huge factor of the base psychological parameters that define each of us.  It’s a discovery that is just waiting patiently for someone to catch the right grant.  All of us either really like chocolate mint or really don’t.  There aren’t any, “Sure, why not” people out there on this flavor.  In fact, I don’t think there are even any, “I used to not like it, but now I do,” people.

Chocolate mint ice cream has always been my all time number one favorite flavor.  In other areas of mint, I’m really not so big on the stuff.  After dinner mints, Andie’s Candies, the little white and red things, they all kind of make my mouth and belly a little wonky.  When you cone it up with chocolate, though?  Good lord! With those little chocolate chips in there, just small enough to not get lodged in your molars? It’s just a really good time in your mouth, man!

So, that’s where my day was going to end.  What I wasn’t ready for was my seven-year old daughter being at the ready for today as well with a pack of chocolate chip mint gum.  When she offered it to me, I had a flashback to when I was seven or eight and got adventurous with a pack of chocolate flavored Hubba Bubba.  So gross!  I still remember because I had two pieces just to make sure.  What was I supposed to do though, it’s Chocolate Mint Day and my daughter offered me support in my quest.  The gum was actually a little surprising.  I don’t think I could get through a whole pack of it, but it tasted quite a bit like the ice cream and was a good way to kick things off.

Mixin' It Up at Marble Slab

As far as the real stuff, I had to go out.  We’ve got several flavors of ice cream in the freezer, but I can’t keep chocolate chip mint in the house, strictly due to personal weakness, so I took the family to Marble Slab.  It’s a great little franchise around the corner that does what Cold Stone Creamery does only… well, they do pretty much the same thing.  But it was great because I was able to get a scoop of cool mint with chocolate chips and Oreo cookies mixed all up in there!

There’s not much more to it than that.  Chocolate mint ice cream?  Done and done!

See you Monday for National Cherry Pie Day… Not thrilled.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

