Happy National Cherry Pie Day! (2/20)

Is anybody really digging on the cherry pie these days? Just look at this thing.   I think the last time a slice was offered to me was in a crappy cafeteria line.  Over the last couple of decades, I’ve been to dozens of potlucks, holiday dinners and funerals, and in none of these food occasions has the cherry pie ever been present.

Once again today’s holiday is not claimed or acknowledged anywhere.  In fact, cherry growing organizations don’t even know about it and seem to disassociate from the concept all together.  The National Cherry Growers and Industries Foundation, who proudly declared that their cherries aren’t those kinds of cherries, said they had nothing to do with it; and the Cherry Marketing Institute, was quick to point out that they would rather focus on the health benefits of their client, the tart cherry.

Hey, but CNN reported about it on their website, so that’s real enough for anyone, right?  They pointed out that it falls on the same day as George Washington’s birthday (and President’s Day for crying out loud!), and since he was fabled to have cut down a cherry tree, I guess we really shouldn’t need more evidence than that.

Alright, so let’s just go ahead and get to this stupid fruit pie.  I mean, cherries have all those antioxidants about which we hear so many awesome things, so that’s good for the blood, or something.  Here’s what I didn’t know. Apparently you got tart grapes and you’ve got sweet grapes.  I’m pretty sure the pies I’ve tried in the past were made of tart ones.

I found this black cherry pie, although my whole life I’ve never seen a black cherry.  I’ve seen red, Ranier, and maraschino cherries, but never a black cherry.

Look now, don’t start naming me as the big awful cherry racist. I actually haven’t eaten any raw cherry in over a decade because I’ve got this ridiculous allergy that causes my throat to swell up every time I eat a raw fruit with an edible peel.  I love fresh cherries.  I love fresh apples.  I just can’t eat them.  Fortunately, when cooked, I’m all good. So, I ate the pie.

It was pretty not bad.  It’s definitely sweet, what with all those cherries and syrups.  The crust on this pie was that really flaky but buttery kind. It’s one of the better crusts out there.  In hindsight, perhaps I was a little hard on the cherry pie up at the top of this entry.  I think what I meant to say was, with so many other awesome pies, why would someone pick this one?  I mean, unless you are on some kind of pie a day diet and really in need of the variety, why would you eat this over a pecan, a pumpkin or a key lime pie?  Graham cracker and Oreo crusts are also way better than that flaky butter one.

But, sorry I was so harsh, cherry pie.

See you Tuesday for National Sticky Bun Day! 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

