Happy National Sticky Bun Day! (2/21)

Possibly spun off from National Cinnamon Bun Day, an actual Swedish holiday that is celebrated on Ocotber 4th, “National Sticky Bun Day” is very fake.  But it’s a nice coincidence that it falls on today, a day Catholics call Shrove Tuesday.

If you are Catholic, then you’ll give up something tomorrow for the next 40-days, but not before indulging in that something one last time today.  If you aren’t Catholic, then today you get hammered and publically show your boobs for a form of shiny currency that only a parrot or perhaps a monkey would consider any value.  Hopefully you do give up showing your boobs publicly for at least the next 40-days.

Somehow pancakes got thrown into the mix, representing the more fatty indulgences one would sacrifice for lent. Cooking them became symbolic of getting rid of all that bread, milk, eggs and such.  Since I am obviously a complete sucker for any old food tradition, real or otherwise, I whipped up some S’more pancakes this AM.  So, now what’s one big ass sticky bun to me, right?

Cinnabon came to mind right away for a celebration station.It’s a little out of the way for me, but hey, how many times a year does National Sticky Bun Day come along?   Actually, Cinnabon Inc. barely seemed to know the answer to that question.  They certainly did not claim responsibility for the day in the slightest.  They also didn’t have a problem with it.  In fact they coincidentally posted a tweet reminding people of the “holiday” only a few minutes after I spoke to them.  Cinnabon really was going to get my business today, but then I started to think, do I really want to go to a mall for lunch?

I decided, since Sweden’s day was innaugerated by a local bakery, what would be best would be to stop by a local bakery on my way home for lunch. Unfortunately no one told Tasty Pastry that it was going to be sticky bun day today, and being that it’s also Mardi Gras, they were pretty much all about the King cake.  That’s two strikes already for that place, by the way. They didn’t help me with molasses bars either.

Since a sticky bun is really just a holeless glazed donut, I kind of thought Dunkin would be able to help me out, but that dude didn’t even know the term sticky bun.  So, Publix it was!  I did a bit of the sticky bun.  I did.  But I really leaned more on the glazed cinnamon bun.  At the time, it made more sense because the icing would make the top sticky, but the sticky wouldn’t course through every surface, nook, and cranny of the treat. The result should have been a much less filling nibbly.

Well, it was really good, but now I really feel like I’m gonna barf.  Since the whole shrove thing is a day for giving something up, I think I’ll play now.  I will eat no sticky buns for at least 40-days.  Bank on it!

See you Wednesday for National Cook a Sweet Potato Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy National Sticky Bun Day! (2/21)

  1. It is so great! Keep those creative visuals coming our way, Mr. Clark!

Leave a Reply

