Happy National Pistachio Day… again! (2/26)

Does this look familiar to anyone else?  I mean, I’m pretty sure someone failed to catch a typo on this one.  Isn’t it just too coincidental that Pistachio Day falls on the 26th of two consecutive months?  I scanned ahead just to make sure someone in the pistachio industry hadn’t paid off the whole year, but this is the only time the anomaly occurs. 

It was just yesterday that I had complained a little about there being a National Tortilla Chip Day taking place only a couple of weeks after National Corn Chip day.  Now this?  It’s all very suspect. 

If you read last pistachio day’s entry, you know that this day gave me tremendous pause the first time around.  To be honest, I was real close to just putting up a <Click here> URL entry and calling it a day.  Then I remembered the most disappointing thing about last month’s National Pistachio Day.  Pistachio pudding!  It had completely slipped my mind.

You'll just have to take my word for it about the gloominess. It obviously didn't come through here.

The instant Jello brand is like nectar to me!  I went to get a box out of the pantry to prep up real quick, but then I looked outside at the cold, rainy, gloomy afternoon, and thought, people make pudding on days like this.  I’m sure they do.  The first recipe I pulled up looked easy enough.  I already had almost all the ingredients.  No pistachios of course, weird little things, but the rest was all right there waiting to be boiled up and refrigerated. 

I’m going to have to give it up to the Heavenly Homemaker, the stuff was alright. Not as good as the Jello brand, I’m sure because this home-made variety had 1/2 the sugar. I was compelled to put in a tablespoon of brown sugar and four drops of green food coloring, just so that it appeared to be what my mouth was expecting. The best thing about making my own pudding though, was that I was able to grind the pistachios into a fine powder. That way none of those little things could get me with their weird bitter after taste.

If you plan on making your own pistachio pudding, please allow me to make a recommendation.  The pre-shelled bag is worth the extra few dollars.   My nails got shredded from cracking open their little mouthes.  I wear a lot of the PGA line of shirts, and they’re made from that kind of fabric that one hangnail can put a pantyhose-like tear right across your belly.  I strongly suspect that tomorrow my garbage can will be receiving one of my shirts by the end of the day.  Oh well.  So it was a $30 cup of pudding.  After all, how many times a year does National Pistachio Day come along?  I’m serious.  How many?

See you Monday for National Chocolate Cake Day, National Strawberry Day, and National Kahlua Day!  I get the feeling an extra 20-minutes of morning cardio exercise might be a good idea tomorrow.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

