Happy Banana Cream Pie Day! (3/2)

I had this day pegged as a sure thing, no way, just go out and buy the pie day. When I momentarily tried to imagine making a banana cream pie, I envisioned all kinds of banana mashing and blending.  Then upon closer inspection, turns out this dessert is nothing more than a vanilla pudding with bananas in it, all dumped into a pie crust.  I decided to make it for kicks.

As I got further into the ingredients and the process, this thing began to look so easy that I decided to not only make it, but also make the vanilla pudding from scratch.  I mean, who cares, right?  It’s Friday and I got nothing going on but a Woody Allen movie and a bottle of wine that I left in the freezer overnight, so now it’s all watery.

I’ve got to take a second here about the Vanilla pudding.  Are you kidding me with this vanilla pudding stuff?  Now that I know how to make it, I’m not real sure how “Instant Vanilla Pudding” ever found a place in the open market. Who can’t make this?  Of course, people are buying instant scrambled eggs, so I guess if cracking an egg and dumping it onto a pan is too much work for someone, then boiling a few ingredients together while you stir would certainly seem like nothing short of advanced chemistry.  Seriously though, vanilla pudding takes about six minutes to prepare and it only requires like five ingredients, all of which were in my house already.

Now, back to the pie. Currently, there is still a half cherry pie sitting in my refrigerator dating back to National Cherry Pie Day, and so since I’m not trying to have all kinds of full pies lying around my house, I opted for little personal tort thingies.

Honestly though, the hardest part about making these little banana cream pies was cutting the bananas up.   Ok, that’s actually not true, because I did manage to mess this completely easy concoction up.  See, I used a banana cream pie recipe that called for instant pudding, but after I made my own vanilla pudding, I failed to skip the step in the banana cream pie recipe that said to “whisk milk and pudding for 2 minutes.”  See, right there you saw what I saw, but what neither of us saw right there was that it didn’t say that. It said “whisk milk and pudding mix for 2 minutes.”  Turns out when you combine pudding with a cup of milk, you no longer have pudding, you have thick vanilla milk.

The result of my scerw up was that I kind of had to start over, except from kind of in the middle.  After all my fix-it-ups, tweaks and doctoring, the result was a kind of tapioca.  Good thing tapioca’s good too.  I don’t know if I’ll ever make another banana cream pie after today.  I’ve never been a huge fan to begin with.  I will make the vanilla pudding again, though.  It was just so damn simple!

See you Saturday for National Cold Cut Day… or Mulled Wine Day.  Can’t decide. 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

