Happy Cold Cuts… But Mostly Mulled Wine Day! (3/3)

Today was one of those two-fers, that in the past, I haven’t paid a lot of attention to,  but I’m not going to pass up some cold cuts, and today was so stormy and gross, that a warm weird wine drink just sounded like it would hit the spot. 

Historically, at this point in my writings I will either start typing some kind of biographical facts, or a bunch of B.S. The thing is,every cold cut I’ve ever had is fraught with excessive sodium and calories, has no health benefits, and is amazingly delicious.  Now, why would I need any further information, especially anything that would reveal how they are made?  I have it in my head that a cold cut is made with a similar process to how we get sausage, chicken nuggets and gefilte fish, so I really don’t care to risk that kind of education on something I typically eat without even bothering to put between bread.  I ate a delicious turkey and cheese sandwich and moved on to part two, the mulled wine.

Don’t be fooled by what your brain is hearing when you read the words mulled wine.  The same thing kept happening to me. It is not moldy old wine.  Although, if our minds are connecting at all, you’re thinking, “In that case, we must be talking about some old lady drink.”  Did you really think that too?  Well, I’m pretty sure we’re both completely right!

One look at the ingredients of mulled wine and you can tell that we are dealing with an old, old English recipe! There is even a recipe for this kind of stuff dating back to the 1500’s. I mean, here we are putting a bunch of sweets and even more booze into a perfectly good bottle of wine?  Isn’t that something?

But, let’s go ahead and make this stuff!  It seemed like it was going to be a little bit of a pill to downsize all the recipes since they’re all intended for four or more servings and I was really just interested in making a single glass of it.  It wasn’t tough, though, considering a glass of wine is exactly 1/4 of a bottle, and the rest of the ingredients just kind of followed suit.

The short of it on this drink is that it is a decent substitute for hot apple cider, something that is served in a bowl at parties, and thus is probably also the reason all the recipes are for multiple glasses, but it’s not going to really “hit the spot” after a long day at work.  It never left my mind that it was more of a seasoned person’s drink though, so for the first time since… well, it might have been since my grandmother herself drank tea from them, I busted out one of the family Bone China tea cups and saucers.

It was a decent presentation.  It was a pretty good drink.  And when I was done, I immediately poured a glass of scotch because it just made me want a real drink.

See you Sunday for National Pound Cake Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Booze, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

