Happy National Pound Cake Day! (3/4)

Would you believe I remember the first time I ate pound cake?  Growing up, my family attended an Episcopal church.  After the service, everyone would adjourn to the “perish hall,” and there many would gather for a little bit of a social hour.  At this age I was of course more interested in lunch, but my parents seemed to never miss the post-church social hour.  Don’t get me wrong, the first five minutes were fine.  Hey, I was a cute little kid, so I got some attention, but after that I was all about the, “is it almost time to go?”

The other thing that made those first five minutes of the social hour bearable, was that there were little nibblies served with the coffee and juice.  Usually sweets.  The nibblies were never that great, mind you.  We’re talking things like little lemon cookies, veggie trays, macaroons, you know the stuff kids just sort of pick at.

Then one Sunday, there was a completely different nibbly.  It was a sliced, undynamic, yellow cakey thing without a drop of icing.  Well, I’m going to try it of course!  After all, it does look like cake, and I’ve already got my little urine cup full of “punch” in my hand, so I need something to go with it.  I’m just thinking, “Please don’t let this me lemony!”

This thing was not lemoney.  This thing was pound cake.  I remember asking my mother, “What is this?” with a kind of awe in my voice, and her responding, “It’s pound cake!” with a kind of duh in her voice.  After that day, I was very uninterested when lemon cookies and veggies were served.  If it wasn’t pound cake, and usually it wasn’t, I was ready to go.

Pound cake is of English descent, but here’s what you should know about it, it has equal 1:1:1:1 proportions of butter, flour, sugar and egg. These proportions were originally based on a pound of each.  Here’s what I don’t get, though.  Why do people try to funk with any other proportions?  I mean, if you’re going to have a white cake, be it wedding, birthday or bar mitzvah (I’ve never been to one, but I have to assume there’s cake there) what would make you think you could get a better cake than a pound cake?  Makes no sense!  The only thing anyone should ever even add to this thing is maybe some whipped cream.

Please allow me one more slam about adding fruit into a dessert.  I’m saying, why lemon in a cake?  Please stop with the lemon in desserts!  Here, let’s put it in a perspective that even of a child could comprehend by using the age old litmus test that Sesame Street gave us long ago:  “Which one of these is not like the other, which one of these doesn’t belong?  Can you guess which one is not like the other before I finish my song.”

Now, ask your inner child, out of these four, which one should never, ever have lemon on or in it?

See you Monday for National Cheese Doodle Day. 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

