Happy National Blueberry Popover Day! (3/10)

Wait!  Don’t panic.  This is not what they are supposed to look like, I’m pretty sure!

Let me begin by explaining that on every one of these food holidays I say a little prayer in hopes that some store, bakery or restaurant will serve today’s featured item so that I don’t have to make it. Unfortunately, a popover in North Florida (AKA, South Georgia) is not a readily available food.  Slowly and bitterly, it settled in that I was going to be making this blessed thing. And since I have never, before today, technically “seen” a popover, much less eaten one, I knew it was going to be quite the adventurous morning.

The ingredients weren’t the issue, I had everything except the blueberries.  The process was not a problem, I had the ingredients, a blender, a baking pan and an oven.  I had what it would take.  The problem came from the fact that I just didn’t really get it.  It looked like I was making muffins! That was why I decided to make it in my only muffin tin. This was a mistake, but it taught me a lot.

Here’s what I learned about popovers thanks to my only muffin tin:  Popovers need a bit of room to settle back down after you pull them from the oven. When you add blueberries, you are adding that much more extra weight to the top that is trying to collapse back in, in the cooling process. So hypothetically, if you use a muffin tin, say about an inch and a half deep, there really isn’t room for the batter to settle back down once they begin to cool.

So, yeah!  I made a bunch of ugly little mutated blueberry things that weren’t entirely popovers (see top image), but, how about this one?  That’s kind of popover-ish, right?  It was the only one of two that I could pry out of the pan without using a scalpel and a pair of hedge clippers to unlock it from the muffin pan, but it’s at least something.

After the first mad scientist experiment, I had a bit of batter left over, so I opted to dump it all into a small Corningware dish and cook it.  No, it didn’t look a whole lot better.  But you know what?  Go image searched “blueberry popovers.” I found that no one’s really looked that awesome.

Today I learned that blueberry popovers are not blueberry muffins, and it is due to three very important differences: 1) This is not a light and fluffy breadish yummy.  It’s very eggy and weird, although not wholly unpleasant, 2) Pillsbury does not make an instant version, 3)  unlike blueberry muffins which rise divinely in the oven and look like something out of a miraculous 3-D Disney movie, blueberry popovers look like something out of a Steven King, made for TV movie, as they lurch upward, the blueberries bursting out, juices popping like puss from a blemish. The popover itself actually looks like its heavily breathing in the pan.  They really are freaky!

I am hoping to have better luck when I see you Sunday for National Oatmeal Nut Waffle Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

