Happy National Oatmeal Nut Waffle Day! (3/11)

It’s heaven sent when a national breakfast day falls on a weekend.  I mean, sure we’re talking about healthing up something that’s typically supposed to be fantastically gross for you, but it’s waffles, it’s Sunday, it’s breakfast.  How can you win better than that?

Here’s what I did not do today, I did not just say to myself, “Ok, so I’ll take some waffle mix, add some oatmeal and throw a few nuts in there and I’m a hero!”  That plan never works the way I think it will, like when I boiled a dozen shrimp, then rolled them around in slightly shredded coconut halves.  It did not taste just like coconut shrimp.

I actually grabbed a recipe on this one.  I’m kind of glad I did, because they actually turned out pretty good.  I could barely tell that I was eating a healthy(ish) meal.  Of course I screwed something up, some measurement of something, causing the batter to be a little runny, so I just threw some pancake mix in there and said, “So?”  I mostly used from scratch ingredients, so we’re good.

The thing that really excited me about the process of this day, is the part about me dropping a handful of sweet and salty nuts in my waffles… Oh grow up! I knew from the get that I was going to be going back to my old friend Emerald’s Sweet & Salty for the this factor of the breakfast, and wouldn’t you know it the little guys were 2-for-1.  What? So, I guess that’s one canister for the old bottom desk drawer at work!

The other exciting part about the nut portion of this day was I saw and grabbed my opportunity to use the Slap Chop.  It’s stored on the highest most out-of-the-way shelf in the kitchen, next to my “free” Krups coffee pot that I hang onto for a “just in case” moment.  I find a use for the Slap Chop on maybe two of every 365 days.  Of course, I guess the same can be said about the china or my cat, and they take up a hell of a lot more room.

The short of it is, this was a really great way to make waffles!  I’ve never really put more effort into it than adding milk and egg. It kind of made me mad that I pay so much more for pancake/waffle mix.  I always kind of thought it was more than flour and sugar in there, but now I’m not real sure it is.

Since it was a healthy kind of breakfast, what with the oatmeal and nuts, I figured best to go all the way by cooking up some turkey bacon.  The trick with turkey bacon is to cut the strips in half, otherwise it’s difficult to crisp them up right.  Of course, they’ll never get as crisp as the pork kind, but you can get a crunch out of them if you’re diligent.

See you Monday for Baked Scallops Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

