What Day is Today? Ah, Nuts!

Sometimes you feel like a nut… Well, you better!  It’s National Peanut Lover’s Day, Dammit!

A peanut lover.  Let’s think about this.  To just blanketly say you love peanuts, is a kin to saying that you just blanketly love The Peanuts.  Sure, we all have our standard favorites, Linus is a personality that I especially identify with, but who can honestly say they love Linus, Lucy and Sally?  Lucy’s patently bossy, and Sally is necessarily whiney.  And let’s not forget about Frieda, with the “naturally curly hair” and her dumb spineless cat that may or may not be the same beast that is always cleaning Snoopy’s clock from across the fence.  You can’t just be a Peanuts lover, and so neither can you be a universal peanut lover, because there are at least as many varieties of peanut as there are Peanuts.

You’ve got peanuts that are salted, unsalted, raw, and boiled.  There are ones that are coated in wasabi, chocolate, sesame seeds, and of course candied sugar.  You’ve got cans of them from Virginia, cans of them from Valencia, and you’ve got cans from South Africa.  Some are blanched, many are roasted, some are honey roasted, but most are dry roasted.  It’s actually almost impossible to find regular old roasted peanuts on the shelf anymore.  Online and in fancy stores are really about the only places they seem to exist these days.  I challenge you to prove me wrong on that.

You know something? I feel like I’m getting a little pushed around by the peanut on this National food holiday list.  Out of curiosity, I pulled the list and did a search for how many days I have indeed committed to this minion of the nut family.  It’s twelve times!  The peanut is celebrated in some way shape or form twelve times on this list.  October 13th is even labeled National Peanut Festival.  Man, I don’t know what the hell that’s supposed to even mean!  Am I supposed to throw one? No point in thinking about that now, I suppose.

Of course I celebrated today, no questions asked.  I started today with some highly spiced red skinned Spanish peanuts.  They’re messy, but they’re good.  Especially because last month, I had dumped the hot spicy remains of a jar of “Planter’s Heat Spicy Peanuts” into the can.  I did crave some boiled peanuts, and I’ve lived in the South long enough to where I can make a really fantastic pot of them, but they always really stink up the house, and last night just wasn’t the night for that.  In the end, however, there was really only one way for me to celebrate National Peanut Day.

In a previous post, I have mentioned that I am a nut purist, clarifying that I don’t like nuts sitting a top my food.  This is what I’m talking about.  Raw peanuts were the only way to go for me.  Raw, in the husk, papery shrapnel all in my lap when it’s over, peanuts.  fantastic!

See you Friday for National Artichoke Heart Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

