I Already Love Chicken, Do I Have To Like Poultry?

National Poultry Day in and of itself is not that weird.  Not in the scheme of things.  We’ve got entire cultures out there praising cows year around, so I would tend to think it’s great that we’re celebrating chickens today, but we’re not.  We’re celebrating “poultry.”

I don’t know if it began with the inception of P.E.T.A. or if it was simply the result of so many farmers having to explain to their children what happened to their pet chicken, cow or pig, but today we desperately try to hide the associations of the living breathing animal with the thing we finally ingest.  We don’t only prefer our meats to be served with as little resemblance to their original state as possible, but we’ve got names for them so that we don’t have to call the thing in between our bun, what it really is.  Cows become beef.  Pigs become pork.  Even deer become venison.  And of course, chickens become poultry.

Most of the food stuffs are lobbed off or ground up before they get to our plate, allowing us to eat an illusion.  Poultry, on the other hand, is one of the only mainstream dishes that we are ok with being served, still preserved in its relative living state.  With poultry, we ourselves still do most of the lobbing and grinding of the meat from the bone the old fashion way, with our teeth.  So, perhaps of all our clever little synonyms we’ve given our meats, we need poultry the most.

Today I woke up with a disgusting cold.  Soar throat, sneezing, body aches, the works!  How perfect is that, right?  On National Poultry Day, I wake up with one of the most base food needs in the history of civilized man, chicken soup for my cold.

My wife brought me home chicken noodle soup from Panera Bread. Let me tell you, I don’t usually eat at Panera because of all that bread.  You order a salad at that place, and you’re still not getting out of there for under 600 calories.  I don’t think it’s a very loose connection to make that with the increased popularity of Atlanta and Panera Bread restaurants, we also see a study by the CDC that shows bread ranking as the #1 source of salt in American diets.  Is it any wonder? I mean look at the size of this thing!  If it was written in the bible that Jesus had taken 5,000 people to Panera and fed them all with seven loaves of their bread, it might not have been portrayed as much of a miracle.  They’ve got good soups, though.

Then, to the age-old question, “If you could only have one thing to eat for the rest of your life, what would it be?” my answer has always been rotisserie chicken.  Ever since my first bite of Kenny Roger’s, it’s been rotisserie chicken.  The wood really does make it good.  I don’t care if it’s moist, dry or beer can.  It’s the best.  You know, I never really mean it about Christmas, but I wish every day was National Poultry Day.

See you Tuesday for National Ravioli Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Entrees, Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

