Chips and Dip and… Melba Toast…

Today was a wonderful day!  I was trying to figure out how I would celebrate National Chips and Dip Day, without completely duplicating what I already wrote on National Corn Chip Day.  I mean, technically chips and dip are all I did on that day, only with corn chips, which is still a chip, so what’s the difference?  Of course, as I quoted Seinfeld’s David Puddy then, I do so now,

“…how come people don’t have dip for dinner? Why is it only a snack, why can’t it be a meal?”

But, today I was able to focus completely when I realized that chips are irrelevant.  I could dip a corn chip, a potato chip, a wheat chip, hell it could even be a cow chip!  At one point, I even tried to rationalize that I could pass with a good order of chili-cheese fries, since England calls french fries chips.  That would make chili-cheese fries a chip and dip. After second consideration I realized that in this scenario, chili cheese fries would, at best, be some sort of chip salad with a chili and cheese dressing.

Alright, so I started writing about how I was excited because of today, and then proceeded to type about how mundane the day was for me.  That’s because of this one more piece of mundane business, which is that today was also National Melba Toast Day.  I didn’t want to mention it before because I didn’t want to put either of us off. Honestly, before today I have been so uncurious about melba toast, that deep down I had rationalized that it must have been something that my Great Aunt Melba made and ate after first spreading generously with a weird orange preserve.  Melba toast just never comes up in conversation.

Man, I’m sorry!  I’m still stalling.  The reason I got excited was because Old London, who makes the only melba toast on my grocer’s shelf, acknowledges that National Chips and Dip Day indeed shares this day with National Melba Toast Day, and National Melba Toast Day is on my list!  Now, if you have not been reading this blog steadily (which, I admit is likely), then you might not understand why this might excite me, but you have to understand that most of these National Food Holidays are pretend, and I’m just going along with the fantasy, so if Old London is going to also declare today National Melba Toast day, the chips can go kiss it! I’m keeping the dip, but as far as I’m concerned, today just became National Melba Toast and Dip Day.

Sure, I had some potato chips too, I’m not stupid, but the short of it is that whether you go with a good guac or a salsa, it doesn’t matter if you use chips or melba toast. On March 23rd, you’ll do fine as long as you understand it all come down to the dip.

So, when “National Raw Horseshoe Crabs and Dip Day” rolls around, just remember follow it up with a good dip!

See you Saturday for National Chocolate Covered Raisin Day. 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

