Waddle On Over, It’s Turkey Neck Soup Day! (3/30)

National Turkey Neck Soup Day provided uncomfortable subject matter for researching since a “turkey neck” is a synonym for a person with saggy skin under the chin. “Call now” products are marketed widely right now that claim to rid people of them. The term “turkey neck,” I also learned, has shown up in the adult pleasure market. Thankfully, I had my search filters turned up pretty high and had no reason to do an image search on this subject.

As far as authenticity of today being a real holiday, I wouldn’t even know where to begin, but my theory would be that it was first declared on a Friday like today because forms of turkey neck soup are pretty big in the Jewish culture for one of the Sabbath meals.  It’s simple to cook, and depending on the size of the family, would probably last at least a couple of Sabbaths.  That’s certainly why I’m excited about it!  Back on National Homemade Soup Day, I used up the last of the turkey vegetable soup that I had frozen back at Christmas time, so I really did need to restore my soup coffers.

This soup is so easy and inexpensive, I don’t know where my head’s been. You do have to shop prices apparently, though. My go-to grocery store is Publix and they were charging the same $2.99 per pound for turkey necks that they were for turkey thighs, legs or breasts.  I just assumed they were mispriced, but when I pointed out the discrepancy to the meat guy, he just said, “No, that’s right.” He didn’t leave it at that, though.  When I pointed out that unlike the other products, turkey necks were comprised mainly of bone with minimal meat, he quickly corrected me that they were actually mostly cartilage.

Their overpricing turned out to be a blessing, because I hate to say it, but Walmart’s turkey necks were incredibly huge and meaty compared to Publix’s, and they were priced $1.25 less per pound.  What’s up Publix?  I got your number!

Soup is the Perfect "Freeze for Later" food.

As I mentioned, turkey neck soup is a big deal for the Jewish Shabbat, and here’s why!  Look at this mess.  I’ve got soup for days.  This is approximately 3-4 servings that will go in the fridge, and another 5-6 that’ll go in the freezer.  Oh, soup… if mankind had never gotten as far as inventing the wheel, we still would have the most amazing of man’s creations… you!

As a post script, if you’ve never made soup, most people will tell you it’s all about a good base stock, and I guess that’s true to an extent, but you really just have to add and taste that sucker till it’s exactly like you imagined it would be, even if that means adding lemon, garlic salt, onion soup bouillon, chicken soup bouillon, or just a giant cup of full-fledged sea salt.  While you’re cooking, just keep sipping so that you end up with the soup that you like.  Oh, and remember that potatoes absorb salt.  That caveat can really mess with you.

See you Saturday for National Clams on a Half Shell day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

