Happy National Clams on a Half Shell Day (3/31)

There was a tingle that ran through me as today’s holiday food approached, National Clams on a Half Shell Day.  Given the choice between oysters, mussels and clams, I’m going with clams every time.  Although I never order them in restaurants, clams are a side for the fish dishes I make at home whenever it occurs to me.  I’ve often thought that clams must be exactly what Pac-Man must taste like, which really helps me to understand why the ghosts are chasing him so vehemently, passing on the various fruits they encounter along the way.

The only clams that are available where I live are littleneck clams due to the warmer climate, and although I’d love to get my hands on some stout longnecks, some quahogs or horse clams,  these little guys are fresh, taste good and I love them.  The ones I bought at Southern Seafood today were from Alligator Point, which is about 25-minutes away.

Typically when I cook clams from the Gulf, I just steam them till they pop open and slurp them down.  Since today was fancy National Clams on a Half Sell Day, I thought I should probably do something a little more grand with them.  From a little bit of poking around online, it looks like a lot of people construct a dressing to put on top, and many others broil or bake them.

Since the point of all this is partially to try new things, should they come along, I felt like I’d be copping out if I didn’t flip the script a little bit today.  So, I made a butter, garlic, parsley and bread crumb idea that I found to put on top of the clams.  I lightly steamed them like usual, slapped on a tiny bit of my dressing, then shoved them in the toaster oven and let them broil for about 5-minutes.  They were my side for an Amberjack filet and some sautéed squash.

What a fantastic day and meal.  In the future, I’ll probably go back to doing the clams my way.  Although, I have to say that parsley, garlic, butter and bread crumbs thing is really very good.  It severely distracted from my clams, but I think it should go on something else one day.  I tried scooping some on the Amberjack, but that’s just not it.

Completely off the topic, when I hit the spell check, I found that I had misspelled the word crumbs both times by leaving out the “r.” That’s so weid!

See you Sunday for National Sourdough Bread Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Food, Lunch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

