Happy Peanut Butter and Jelly Day! (4/2)

Think about how many peanut butter and jelly sandwiches a person makes and eats in their life time.  We start eating them at around age four or five, and continue pretty hot and heavy on them for the next five to eight years, figuring out how to make them for ourselves by age seven or eight.  Then by the teenage years, the taste for the sandwich fades, replaced by fast food and Hot Pockets.

For some, there’s a brief retro/budget driven phase in college where the sandwich becomes a staple.  Then, the next thing you know it there’s a four-year old living in your house, and without a thought, you’re making another eight years of PB&Js, downing a few here and there out of exhaustion.  You’ll make yet even more as a grandparent.  By my count, from womb to grave, you made or ate over 2,500 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches in all.

My personal PB&J count was reduced severely when I was about twelve because my mom went on a severe health kick, practically eliminating sugars from the household.  If you’ve never had this all natural, sugar free peanut butter, consider yourself blessed for your ignorance.  My memory of that peanut butter is very similar to the one that I have of a third world gruel that I once tried at a Christian Summer camp.  It was meant to help me understand the hardships children in those countries experienced.

A little extra butter always helps.

The thing about this sandwich is it never quite gets old.  I haven’t eaten one in years, but today I made one, swearing that I would save half for my daughter.  I ended up having to make an extra half.  The secret to my peanut butter and jelly sandwich is that I lay down a thin layer of butter on one of the halves before I spread the peanut butter on top.  Let me tell you something brother, a little extra butter makes all the difference!

There’s a little history on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, like that our boys in WWII ate the hell out of them, but most of it is really sketchy, so I’m not going to regurgitate any more of it here.  Certainly the holiday is completely bogus, but I’m thankful for the excuse to revisit the PB&J.  I know I should be eating more since my daughter is seven, but she really doesn’t like the jelly.  That’s why we eat peanut butter and butter sandwiches in my house.  Please don’t report me.

See you Tuesday for National Chocolate Mousse Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Peanut Butter and Jelly Day! (4/2)

  1. JannatWrites says:

    All natural, sugar-free peanut butter doesn’t sound appealing (give me Jif or give me death.) Dramatic, yes, but I feel strongly about this 😆 Seriously, though…there are certain foods that we should be able to splurge on once in a while. One of them in peanut butter (I spread a bit on apple slices, figuring the healthy benefits of the apples will balance out the peanut butter.) Another is sour cream. Sour cream should not be fat free. Fat free tastes nasty….and it’s runny…gross! Nothing is better than sour cream on a baked potato (slathered in butter, of course.)

    Never had butter on a PB&J…that one was new to me!

Leave a Reply

