Happy National Coffee Cake Day! (4/7)

A little coffee cake for the weekend?  Well, I don’t mind if I do!  Coffee cakes are good no matter how you slice it (see what I did there?).  It’s that streusel on the top that makes the stuff so extremely messy, and fantastic.  Streusel is the name for all that crumbly goodness on the top.  It’s usually straight sugar, but sometimes there’s a little bit of nutritious cinnamon in there.

My choices were apple, cranberry, and blueberry.  Bleh!  Well, apple’s ok, as long as there’s plenty of streusel on top.  Actually, apple strudel, apple cobbler, apple cider, I kind of enjoy any of it because I really miss apples in general.  I can’t eat them raw anymore ever since I developed this wonderful allergy where I can’t eat fresh raw apples, not even “organic” ones. Yeah, I put quotes around it! I don’t have a lot of faith in the organic industry.  I’m pretty sure they’re using more than poo to grow their fruits and veggies.

The Jewish culture, the Danish culture, the Russian culture, they all have a little bit of a claim in creating the original whatever that became our current and extremely non-formatted coffee cake.  When a history becomes as muddled and complex as the coffee cake’s, I lose interest real fast.  It’s like trying to uncover the first person to use salt.  The worst thing you could do is find enough data to convince yourself that you might be right.

Anyway, as far as I’m concerned, Little Debbie invented the coffee cake.  You can make all kinds of fantastic things that fall into coffee cake land, but if it gets too fancy, it stops being coffee cake, and if it gets too cardboardy, it’s not coffee cake either because coffee cake has to be at least kind of good.  Little Debbie does exactly what coffee cake should do.  Lots of streusel on top, the perfect sized serving and price point, it’s $1.00 for two little squares that come in a plastic package at any gas station… God bless you Little Debbie!  If it’s meant to be quick and pastry, I vote to put you forever in charge.

See you Sunday for National Empanada Day… if I can get one on Easter.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

