Half Ass Cinnamon Crescent Rolls

National Cinnamon Crescent Day may seem like it would be one of the more easy things to get together, but I need to tell you that it gets a little more difficult when you’re prepping a citizen’s variance case against the city on top of a vet appointment for my cat.

City Contested Building Permit

Pissed Off Cat

Well, what am I thinking?  I mean, I don’t have to tell you you any of this, right? Which one you haven’t been in this exact same situation, battling the foes of the beurocratic local government, seeing to the major health concerns of family, all while making home-made cinnamon crescent rolls?  Needless to say, I just did what I had to do, gritted my teeth, bared it, and whipped up some of the most home made-est cinnamon crescents you might have ever have seen in your life!

Ok, look, I’m not real proud of the fact that this was super easy,  but what was I supposed to do, make my own dough just to kick things up a notch? Oh, there are apparently plenty of  ways to put all kinds of intricate spins on such a simple recipe.  There are extras like cream cheese, milk, powdered sugars and nuts, but there just wasn’t time for that mess.

You know, the short of it is I’m actually really glad that I was lazy on this one.  By not trying to pull off something fancy and sticky, I discovered that just rubbing Pilsbury dough in a brown sugar/cinnamon mix makes a really light, and much healthier dessert roll.  Do you know what else?  It tastes just like those cinnamon twisty things that they have at Taco Bell, except their crispy and fluffy all at the same time.

There is no recipe for what I did.  I just dumped a bunch of brown sugar onto a plate and added cinnamon and pumpkin spice, mixing it together till I could taste the two spices over the sugar.  Then I just mushed the dough in the powder, flipping till it was covered, rolled them up and baked them.  Great discovery!  I love it when that happens.

See you Wednesday for National Cheese Fondue Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Entrees, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

