Happy National Pecan Day! (4/12)

Georgia is the United States’ number one producer of pecans, accounting for approximately 40% of them.  Tallahassee, where I live, is approximately fifteen minutes from the Georgia state line, so pecans are kind of a big deal here.  When pecans are in season, a man could go out and harvest a storage sized Ziplock of pecans right out of a municple park.  This would, of course, be very convenient for me today on National Pecan Day if this list would be just slightly convenient.

But no, this is the list that celebrates Plum Pudding Day in February and National Gazpacho Day in December.  So, since October is when pecans tend to go into season, why wouldn’t National Pecan Day be celebrated in April?

Still, there’s plenty of pecans leftover on the shelves this month at $12.99 per pound.  There’s no doubt, it’s a wickedly expensive nut!  You praline those suckers, and we’re talking about some major expense.  The price really doesn’t bug me so much, though. No, that’s not why I’m grumpy. I’m grumpy because, in my humble opinion, the absolute best thing you can put in your m outh is a bite of chocolate pecan pie. That mixture of the grahams, the chocolate, the condensed milk, and of course the pecans, all with a little scoop of vanilla ice cream?  Ah, come on man!  And pecan pie is widely available absolutely everywhere, absolutely almost anytime else except for now.

There wasn’t time today to make my own chocolate pecan pie, so here I am having to eat this “pecan bar.” Disappointingly, I’m not sure there’s any difference between the pecan bar I ate and an extra sweet coffee cake. Not that I don’t love coffee cake, as I stated back on National Coffee Cake Day. The good news was that I could still get good, natural, raw pecans. Just having a quarter pound of the little guys in the house somehow makes me feel more secure in general.

Well, see you Sunday for National Glazed Ham Day… 1-week after Eater, mind you!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

