Me and My Glazed Hammy Sammy (4/15)

Today is a Sunday, and a glazed ham is one of those things that people traditionally make on a Sunday.  Usually they’re more known for being made on holidays, but surely there are families buying all those many raw hams and premade cooked glazed hams that stores are carrying all year around.

The thing is, even if I were to make one of these big hams, no one else in my family would have any of it with me, so it would have to be off to a deli for me.  Most delis are closed on Sunday here, though, so it’s fortunate that Publix has a pretty sweet deli.

Boar’s Head makes a little mini maple honey glazed ham for only about twelve dollars, but even that was a little too much for my needs, so I had the gentleman at the deli cut me up seven slices for the road.

Here’s the thing about sandwiches, I love them!  We’re talking about Shaggy and Scooby type love of sandwiches. Sure, I’ll take a slice of some cold cut and a slice of cheese between two pieces of bread for lunch if you make it for me.  Oh, and I’ll be grateful.  Truly!   But a sandwich should truly be something extremely special, like that piece of art in a museum that you stare at a little longer thand the rest because you can’t quite understand exactly what you’re looking at or how it’s staying together.

When I make a sandwich, I have to raid the vegetable drawer, I have to ransack the meat drawer, and I have to thoroughly search my supply of sauces and spreads.  Like I said, it’s got to be like a real Shaggy and Scooby style creation!

THE Ham Sandwich

Maple honey glazed ham was a start, but that could only be the foundation.  From cheese fondue day I still had a quarter loaf of multi grain bread that was going to work fantastically to bookend my creation.  I also had Romaine lettuce, some Amish Swiss, and a great Düsseldorf style mustard.  Finally, there was a quarter red pepper left over from… well, I don’t know why I had that, but I sliced it up, sautéed the slices and plopped them right on top of the cheese.  Yep, that sandwich worked!  It worked all over the place!

Incidentally, it turns out glazing a ham is really nothing when it comes down to it.  It’s just brushing a sweet concoction of sugary things like maple syrup, honey, brown sugar, or whatever you’ve got, once the ham has only 30-minutes left to cook.  Ok, good to know.  If I ever have to do it, now I won’t panic.

See you Monday for National Eggs Benedict Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

