Happy National Cheese Ball Day! (4/18)

It would be fairly safe to assume that today’s National Cheese Ball Day was designed with the intent of spawning a series of mini cheese ball sampling parties, each guest bringing their own so that everyone could walk around sampling each others’ balls. That’s just not my kind of party, though. I thought it might be fun to make one, but with the amount and variance of cheese, it costs half as much to just go out and buy one, so I did.

There was only one choice at the grocery store, sharp cheddar or port wine.  There was a second, while I was staring at these two balls, when I had a rare moment of consideration because my daughter loves cheese, and even though I really wanted to try the port wine cheese ball, I know my daughter loves cheddar cheese and she would almost definitely choose that one if I asked her opinion. Then it occurred to me that there is just enough ingredient other than cheese in a cheese ball for my daughter to freak out and hate either one, so I quickly grabbed the port wine cheese ball without a word or a second thought. 

Cheese balls aren’t that amazing, actually.  At a party, I find myself hitting the celery and ranch a lot more than the cheese ball and crackers.  I mean, it’s a fancy looking thing, and tastes pretty interesting.  It’s quite nutty.   But, wouldn’t any of us much rather have a mini plate of cheese cubes? Maybe some sliced swiss? 

Here’s a recipe for a cheese ball that I actually would have made if there was a reason to make it or anywhere to bring it at all, but I’m sorry, I just can’t get too into these cheese balls.  Meanwhile, I did eat about one-third of the thing.  They’re addictive!  Something dark and sinister is at work in that nut slathered orange ball of goo. I don’t understand it, and I don’t want to.  

For now, however, the moment is done. So, here is how I would prefer to handle the rest of this entry:  THE END

See you Thursday for National Animal Cracker Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

