A National Animal Cracker Day of Mourning

This day I cried.

Today’s National Animal Cracker Day was not meant to be a sad day, in fact, I had every intention of waxing nostalgic for most of the day.  I even bought milk!

Dating back to childhood, a box of animal crackers had been my go-to impulse purchase.  I could always levy it at my mom when she dragged me to the grocery store.  It was an easy sell because Nabisco Barnum’s Animals Crackers came in this awesome little personal sized box, in the shape of a circus wagon with all the little animals crammed into adorably inhumane cages.  At only 240 calories per box, and with a label that boasted that they were a “Good Source of Calcium,” how could the forty-nine cent purchase be unreasonable?  On top of all that, there was a little string along the top of the box that aloud me to carry my animal crackers around like a little brief case, although Nabisco claims that the string’s original purpose was for hanging it from a Christmas tree.

An Animal Cracker Scam

So, why all the past tense you might be wondering?  Because I could not find that box!  Oh, sure you can buy Nabisco’s animal crackers still, you can buy lots of them.  I even found a little faux wagon bag that forced you to buy two other Nabsico products along with it.  That’s how you know that they know how powerful the packaging is.  But you can’t buy a single.  Not in the awesome red circus wagon.  I tried Walgreens, I tried Publix, I tried Walmart, I even tried a truck stop, but no one had it.

These poor things!

Out of spite I bought a bag of Keebler Animal Crackers, and even though they tasted almost identical to my Barnum memory, I couldn’t tell what the hell I was eating.  Sure the bag showed perfectly cut versions of each shape, but the ones I held in my hand looked like the Pompeii Holocaust versions of their counterparts on the bag.

I was getting so frustrated with today, that I went back out at lunch to try another Walmart.  This is where a little good news trickles in.  I found a box of Barnum’s.  Well, sort of.  It was a “Special Edition” version, with proceeds going to some Lilly Pulitzer fund for arts and entertainment.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t really recapture my boyhood youth with this thing. I still bought four of them because I saw a bunch of weirdos that collect the old boxes.  One was selling for almost fifty bucks!  That would be a 2400% profit, in which case I will most certainly come back to this blog and say, HAPPY NATIONAL ANIMAL CRACKER DAY!  Today, however, I’m just a little grumpy.

See you Friday for National Pineapple Upside-down Cake Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A National Animal Cracker Day of Mourning

  1. Jennifer says:

    I completely agree with your lament! Here, we have the little boxes I grew up with with the strings. However, they changed the recipe! Now, they taste like the generic puffy animal crackers that you found in church nurseries because they were cheap. They’re not the pressed animals with hard edges and well formed animals of our childhood either.

Leave a Reply

