It’s 4/20 Dude, And You Know What That Means!

You got that straight, it’s National Pineapple Upside-down Cake Day!

Ok, now is the point in the blog where I write things that seem to contradict things that I have stated in past entries, and subsequently spend way too much time explaining why it’s different.

Today is National Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Day, and I very much like pineapple upside-down cake. Now, just the other day, I threw a lot of complaints at baked ham and pineapple, specifically in regards to the pineapple part of the meal that I threw away.  So, I am now clarifying that I have no problems with pineapple as a fruit, in fact I am very fond of it.  I just don’t like meat juices dripping all over it.

Now to the other dispute that I am in violation of contradicting, that fruit does not belong in a dessert.  I believe that at one point, I even made reference to the awful Japanese-American custom of issuing a slice of pineapple as a dessert.  Ok, I do stand by that one.  Plain fruit should never be classified as a dessert. It’s a side or a snack and that is all.  Unfortunately, I have also lodged formal complaints against real desserts that incorporate fruits like cherries and lemons into pies and cakes.  That is certainly where we have a real discrepancy, because I do like pineapple upside-down cake.

To this discrepancy, I say this:  It’s a rule, not an absolute. And there are exceptions to every rule.  Technically, there is even one other fruit combo dessert I quite like, that violates my previous posts even more severely, but I am not about to make things worse by revealing it.

Pineapple upside-down cake is just so buttery, delicious, overly sweet and creamy!  It’s got pineapple, sure, but by the time my mouth is trying to distinguish the fruit from the rest of the sugar, it just doesn’t matter anymore.

Unfortunately, I had to make this.  I mainly say “unfortunately” because I’m just tired of having so many big ass cakes and things in the house.  I have a very small family.  We can’t eat all this mess.

Then suddenly came the epiphany.  As I was buying the ingredients for today’s pineapple upside-down cake, I glimpsed it right there in the baking aisle, this little bitty pan so that I could make a personal sized upside-down cake!

Is it meat? Or is it cake?

So It didn’t turn out pretty.  Not the outside anyway.  I think I proportioned way too much brown sugar when I tried to cut the recipe in half.  Of course, the size of the whole didn’t matter in the slightest when it came down to my bite of the slice.  Woof!  This thing is so rich!  My wife says that I just can’t handle my sweets.  That’s probably true, but I’ll keep up the good fight!  I’ll need to with the weekend this list has planned for me.

See you Saturday for Chocolate Covered Cashews Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

