Happy National Cherry Cheese Cake Day! (4/23)

Yes, this is a strawberry cheese cake... exlanation to follow.

The sweets category of edibles is actually not a big driving force within the pleasure center of my brain.  For one, I’m usually so full from dinner that I don’t want anything else in there, but the other reason is that I just don’t get that “Mmmmmmmmm!” feeling from a lot of desserty things.  Don’t mistake me here, I like the sweets.  I mean, I like-ah-like-ah-like-ah da sweets!  They’re just not a real gotta have urge in my brain.

That being said, there are a few exceptions, which are:

  1. Anything Gummy – Black Forest makes the best gummy products on the market, but really anything gummy absolutely makes me jump for it.
  2. Chocolate Mint / Cookies & Cream Ice Cream – a scoop of each if they’re available, because I can never choose.
  3. Charms Blow Pops – With only 60 calories per pop, you get 10-15 minutes of deliciousness, and a bonus 14-seconds of delicious gum chewing before the gum goes completely stale and hard.
  4. Pecan Pie – Good lord it’s only like the best pie on Earth! It has to be chock full of pecans, though, not just a layer on top for show with a brown goo in the middle. And chocolate pecan pie? That beats rock, paper and scissors!
  5. Cheese Cake – I can rarely eat a whole slice because the stuff is usually so rich, but when it’s offered to me, it is taken.  I love it so much, I don’t even mind when you slather a syrupy glop of cherry stuff on top.

Ok, I should be more appreciative about eating cherry cheese cake considering I’m allergic to raw cherries and the only way I can get even a slight taste of that awesomely offensive male genitalia resembling fruit is in a cooked fashion that is afterward ensconced in a disgustingly sugary syrup.

Of course, today’s National Cherry Cheese Cake Day became a little confusing for me when I instinctively asked the bakery to make up a strawberry cheese cake slice instead of the cherry because it simply sounds 80% better to me than a cherry variety of the same.  In the end, I held true. My wife and I split the cherry cheese cake slice (the one pictured right here), but there was also this gargantuan slice of cheese cake that was coated in strawberry gook.  I had to purchase it since I asked them to make it, and at dessert, my daughter had chosen it one over the cherry one, and then immediately decided she didn’t like it at all.  So, I had to eat the rest of hers as well.

I feel fat.

See you Tuesday for  National Pigs in a Blanket Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

