Happy National Pigs in a Blanket Day (4/24)

How do you turn a hot dog back into a pig? Just tuck it in to bed!

It’s not the easiest thing to define what constitutes a pig in a blanket.  Hot dogs typically come in some form of edible bread based packaging anyway, so what are the defining factors that covert a hot dog back into a pig, while simultaneously converting its bun into a blanket?  You could argue that cooking the edible container onto the hot dog is what causes it to become a blanket, except that when you deconstruct a corn dog, you are not left with a pig or a blanket.   Perhaps it is the fact that only a glimpse of the hot dog remains visible after the dish is cooked, leaving the end of the hot dog to resemble a pig’s nose.

To make matters more confusing, “The Food Timeline” reports that back in the ’30s and ’40s, a pig was not necessarily a pig by-product at all, and a blanket was not necessarily dough based.  So, in the interest of this blog, as well as moving on in general, I am setting the definition this way:

pigs in a blanket – a baked good that is comprised of two main ingredients; 1) a mixture of ground animal and spices in a wiener shaped casing composed of animal intestine or cologen . 2) a second edible casing, that the wiener is placed inside, so that only the ends of it are exposed.

Making Pigs in a Blanket

Using this definition, I made a plate of the little kind for the family, and the big honkin’ unhealthy bacon wrapped one up top there, for my lunch.  I also had a salad, which always makes a gross, fattening meal sit better in the belly.  It’s like food’s equivalent of a Catholic confessional.

A plate of pigs in a blanket always makes me think of “Coming to America.” 

 “Here you go King. Try one of these pigs in a blanket.  They’re the frozen kind, but you’d never know it.”

Honestly, I usually turn my nose up at Pigs in a Blanket, very much like King Jaffe Joffer did at Mr. Macdowells offer.  Maybe the kind I’ve always had have been the frozen kind though, because these ones that I made were very nice. Considering they’re typically a ordeurve, maybe others over cook them in the haste of preparation for a party.  Or maybe you can tell the difference when they’re the frozen kind!

Pig in a Pig Skin Blanket

What was sick about today was the bacon wrapped smoked sausage for lunch.  Just a mass of animal fat and grease.  It was delicious, and so gross all at once.   The second I saw the option online, I knew I was going to do it.  Bleh!  Just looking at the picture makes me feel like I need another salad.

See you Wednesday for National Zucchini Bread Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy National Pigs in a Blanket Day (4/24)

  1. Donna says:

    Pigs in the Blanket was my all time favorite thing when I was in grade school, especially when my mom used her homemade biscuit dough instead of the can of Pillsbury dough that my aunt favored.

  2. Donna says:

    Dare I say, great minds think alike?

Leave a Reply

