National Zucchini Bread Day (4/25)

As we’ve been oozing into Summer, I’ve been eyeballing this day suspiciously.  Zucchini bread sounded completely gross to me, like some kind of facacta sandwich alternative for people who found wheat bread to just not be healthy enough.   Even the Mayo Clinic has a recipe for the stuff on their website, which pretty much confirmed it for me that I was going to be adding a whole lot of butter, honey or peanut butter and jelly to my slice to help get it down.

I sat around this morning worrying about whether I was going to have to bake the bread tonight or go to a health food store and pick up a loaf.  Then I suddenly had a distinct memory of walking by loaves of zucchini bread on a grocer’s shelf somewhere, and scoffing at them to myself as I went for a box of cookies.  It was Fresh Market! Zucchini bread was something that I occasionally came across when I was in the baking section of my friendly neighborhood Fresh Market.  They sell a lot of organic food stuffs there, so that made sense.  I called and asked if they had any zucchini bread, and the woman on the other end of the line told me that it was not only on sale there, it was currently 2-for-1.  “Great,” I thought.  “I’ll get two whole loaves of this cruddy bread that’s going to stick in my crawl with every swallow the whole way down!”

Then, after all that stress and concern over today’s food holiday, guess what I discovered!  This stuff aint nothin’ but a loaf of sweet goodness.  The zucchini in zucchini bread is basically the equivalent of the spinach that I used to sneak into my kid’s strawberry smoothie, so as not to affect the taste at all.  At Fresh Market it sits there next to the pumpkin bread, the banana bread, and the coconut bread.

The Zucchini Chomp

So, it turns out that zucchini bread is not a health food at all.  It’s a severe non-health food.  That’s why I didn’t feel at all bad about doctoring a slice at the end of lunch.  Yep, today I learned a very valuable lesson.  Zucchini bread is all right!

See you Thursday for National Pretzel Day! 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

