Happy National Pretzel Day! (4/26)

Can’t go wrong with a pretzel, man!  If you’re out at the snack shacks at a baseball game and want to bring your partner something back, but don’t know for sure what would fly, always go with a pretzel.  Sure, you could also do some Dippin Dots, but I think I read that the ice cream of the future just recently slipped quietly into the past.

In the war on the grocery store snack shelf, it’s pretty much been narrowed down to just two players, Rolled Gold and Snyder’s.  Of course, it’s hard to say which of them is best.  There’s not much to the hard dried snack ones, which is probably why they’ve both branched off into varieties of the theme.  Snyder’s definitely has more variety of shapes and tastes, but Rolled Gold seems to have better sports marketing.

In my humble opinion, once you start deviating from the original pretzel shape, you’re technically no longer talking about a pretzel.  The snack companies don’t seem to agree, however, splashing the word pretzel all over the place.  They do clarify their varying designs with alternate descriptives like Snyder’s grid shaped “pretzels” are called “SNAPS.”  When they straighten out thin pretzels they’re then called “STICKS,” but when either company straightens out a thick pretzel, it’s called a “ROD.”

Like Snyder's on Facebook & You Could Win Free Pretzels for LIFE! http://on.fb.me/JCOqoc

To their credit, Snyder’s seems to be all engines full for National Pretzel Day today, dedicating their Facebook product page to giving away ten people a year’s supply of pretzels, which is pretty cool.  For me that would only be about 5-bags, though.  Pretzels are extremely deceiving in that they’re real low-calorie, only about 110 per seventeen pretzels.  Sounds good right?  Only no one counts to seventeen while they’re eating pretzels, it’s too high a number! So, we all just eat the ever living salty snot out of the bag till, before you know it, half of it’s gone, and likely equating to half a normal human’s daily calorie consumption.

It Just Wasn't a Pretzel

Also, if you have the means, soft pretzels are really the only way to go.  That was, of course, the bad news.  Without a sporting event or a state fair to go to today, there was no way I was getting a warm soft pretzel today.  I tried to make good by getting this pretzel bread thing at the Publix bakery, but it wasn’t the same.  Too thick and too saty.

The Pretzel Hoagie

I wound up having to scrape most of the salt off, in fact, and in the end I decided that the thing would serve me better as a hoagie roll.  This actually turned out to be a great discovery, and one that I will likely repeat in the future.

So all in all, thanks National Pretzel Day!

See you Friday for National Prime Rib Day! 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy National Pretzel Day! (4/26)

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I’m not really a fan of pretzels, but once in a while, I’ll eat one of the hot, soft pretzels at the little shops in the mall. (I’m at the mall maybe once a year.) The only other way I like them is covered in yogurt or chhocolate. I don’t even want to know about the sodium, calories and sugar involved 🙂

Leave a Reply

