Happy National Blueberry Pie Day! (4/28)

Is there a berry that nature has created that man did not eventually use to make a pie?  We’ve made pies from strawberries, boysenberries, blackberries, raspberries, huckleberries, cranberries, and yes, of course blueberries.  The syrupy sweet nature of fruit pies turns me off a little bit, and often gives my tummy a little bit of an issue, but I like the balance that you end up getting between the fruit and the crust.  When I eat a sandwich, I’ll sometimes leave a bit of the crust uneaten on the plate when I’m done.  When eating pizza, I’ll occasionally even leave whole crusts in the box.  But when I’m downing a slice of blueberry pie, the crust is an integral part of the experience.

Still, since fruit pies are not too much my favorite kinds of pies, it was important for me to get a really good homemade one from someone or someplace that really knew what they were doing.  Unfortunately, it turns out that no one makes blueberry pies in these parts.  The woman working the bakery at The Fresh Market told me that she hadn’t seen a blueberry pie made there from as far back as her hire date.  So, I had to go with a frozen one.

Publix had exactly one variety of blueberry pie in their dessert food freezers, and it was theirs. That didn’t thrill me a whole lot.  This was not at all the way I wanted to celebrate National Blueberry Pie Day.  Still, the slice on the box looked pretty good.  It had a thick crust, lots of whole blueberries inside, plus it looked like the slice could easily support the weight of the hefty scoop of ice cream I had every intetnion of plopping on top of it.

And it was all a lie.  Like images of McDonald’s Big Macs and Red Lobster entres, the blueberry pie slice on the cover of Publix’s frozen pie box was also a deception.  There was no way in this world that the pie that came out of the 400 degree oven tonight was going to produce the same slice that is pictured on that box!

Still, the flavor was good.  Really good!  Truthfully, I was a little disappointed in myself for assuming otherwise.  After all, Publix is pretty sharp on everything else, so why would their cheap-o frozen pies be any different?

To sum up here, I’m sorry Publix.  I’m sorry National Blueberry Pie Day.  I’m fat tonight and it’s partially thanks to the two of you.

See you Sunday for National Shrimp Scampi Day! 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy National Blueberry Pie Day! (4/28)

  1. terry1954 says:

    love blueberry pie!!!

    • Jim Clark says:

      I have a theory that if you’re a lover of one fruit based pie, you’re pretty much a groupie for the whole lot. Is that accurate in your case, Terry?

Leave a Reply

