Mayday-Mayday! It’s Chocolate Parfait Day! (5/1)

Parfait means perfect in French.  Yes, three years of high school French classes can have a little bit of long-term retention.  I also remember that je ne said pas means I don’t know in English, and that merde means shit.  In no language I could find, however, does parfait mean layered, yet somehow in America that is exactly the meaning we’ve assigned to it.

When the French were making parfaits a couple hundred years ago, they called them “parfait glacé,” glacé being french for iced.  These days, however, a parfait basically equates to a sundae made of anything and everything.  People will literally parfait any combination of food.  People parfait fruit and granola, strawberries and cream.  Cruising around online today, I even came across parfaits made of little shrimps, spiced crab stuffing, and cilantro!  Now, all of those sound fantastic beyond belief to me!  Of course they do, but I have to admit that I lose some respect for the French that they let a “perfect” adjective like parfait become a world-wide common verb.

The chocolate parfait is a real beauty though, isn’t it?  This bad boy’s composed of chocolate pudding, frozen chocolate whipped cream, chocolate shavings, chocolate graham cracker crumbs, and a bit of sour cream.  I ate the guy at the top there after dinner tonight, and there was not a chance on this Earth that I was going to finish it.  Trying to guesstimate the calories in my head, I could feel the entire weight of my butt shove straight up into my belly.

My Parfait Assistant

Needless to say I had to hire an assistant to finish up the ridiculous thing.  If I had put it in the fridge, I know I would have become curious as to how it might taste mixed in with my morning oatmeal.  From the expression on my assistant’s face, I could tell that this was clearly the better the choice.

“The List” gives me May 2nd off, so I’ll see you Thursday for National Chocolate Custard Day. Jeesh!  Maybe I’ll spend Wednesday just eating salads.

You can catch the sequel to this entry on National Strawberry Parfait Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

