Custard’s Last Stand

Have you ever sat, eating a delicious bowl of chocolate pudding and thought to yourself, “You know, this is pretty good, what with the chocolate, the cream and the milk, but I really wish it was just a little worse for me!”  If that describes you, there’s good news for you today because your complete disregard for your physical health can be fulfilled every May 3rd.  That’s right, it’s National Chocolate Custard Day!

If you’ve read this blog before, you might be aware that somewhere around paragraph two or three, I’ll sometimes go into a little bit of detail about the day’s food, often sharing the results of whatever historical factoids I’ve uncovered about the day’s dish, but quite frankly the poking around I did on custard just isn’t going to give you anything substantial.  And let’s face it, “This is the country that chocolate custard originated in.” is never going be an answer on Jeopardy, although if ever challenged, citing “the Middle Ages in Europe” would probably earn you a couple of points at a cocktail party.  Come to think of it, citing “the Middle Ages in Europe” would probably earn you a couple of points in regards to any historical subject matter at a cocktail party.  I just made a note to start trying that out.

One thing I can tell you about custard is that there is apparently no wrong way to make it. You can get fancy with a double steamer, you can bake the thing, you can cook it on the stove in a sauce pan, you can even make it without eggs.  The “without eggs” version actually appealed to me for a second, but then I remembered that the reason I had to make this thing today instead of quickly running out and buying it was because everywhere I called yesterday wanted to make me something they described as “similar” but with no eggs.  I refused all those offers because “with no eggs” seemed to be synonymous with “not really a custard.”  So, after refusing all of them, I couldn’t go back now.

The thing that always amazes me about keeping up with this “National <Food of the Day> List” is that I try some of these things that I’ve never tried before or only tasted once or twice, and when I learn what’s in them, they’re really not that special or tough to make (except for the plum pudding.  That was hard!).  This chocolate custard is like that.  It really is just chocolate pudding with a couple of egg yolks thrown in.  I suppose they’re meant to add a good dose of cholesterol on top of the excessive sugar.

Sorry the picture up top wasn’t so great.  I don’t have any fancy custard bowls, so I had to use the little plastic cups that typically contain my seventeen year old cat’s “slurm” meals.  You know, it’s funny.  I thought I would, but I really couldn’t taste the eggs… or the cat slurm in this custard, just the chocolate.

Chocolaholics, you need to get out there and make yourself some of this Chocolate Custard.  Trust me when I tell you, you’ll be saying, alllllright!

See you Friday for National Hoagie Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

