Happy National Crepe Suzette Day! (5/6)

National Crepe Suzette Day. Now here’s a food item that really needs its own day.  If my daughter, my wife and myself were the only ones eating Crepe Suzette this evening, I believe that three more people were eating Crepe Suzette today than there were eating Crepe Suzette in the last two Sundays combined.

Originally conceived by the French, these super thin pancakey things they called crepes were once known only to Americans as a restaurant brunch item that we basically ate the same way as the pancakes we already served ourselves on our tables at home, coating them in syrups, butter and sugars.  Now, seemingly out of the blue, crepes have bounced into a new level of American trendiness. Crepe restaurants are popping up everywhere that serve crepe snacks, lunches, dinners and desserts. Pasadena, CA socialites sit in their Creme de la Crepe restaurants. New York City seems to be enamored with the Creperie . The Crepe Revolution, just outside of Atlanta, GA I hear packs a trim and tidy crowd.  Even Tallahassee, FL has a few Crepevines peppered around town that fill up with both the young and pretentious, all sharing the same space for lunch.

The Crepe Suzette, however, is a throwback to that sweet, gooey, not quite dessert, and not quite breakfast food that we all know and always feel a little sick after eating.  My skepticism was high when I saw that the syrup portion of a Crepe Suzette was made from oranges.  I got quite a bit more suspicious when I read that Grand Marnier is what is used to flambe it.  Like a trooper, I went through all the motions, though.  You know, I haven’t fresh squeezed oranges since… Wow, I don’t think I’d ever fresh squeezed oranges before today.

Clogged Artery Mix

Ok, you know what?  I’m beating around the bush.  None of us liked the Crepe Suzette.  Sure, it’s possible that I messed it up, but the ingredients weren’t complex enough to screw up, just butter, sugar, oranges and crepes.  Lord knows they combined to look like a clogged artery!   They weren’t from scratch crepes either, so that couldn’t have been the issue.  It’s true that my Crepe Suzette didn’t flambe too well, so they probably could have used a little more of whatever chemical reaction was supposed to happen there, but personally I believe it was the same old argument I’ve been making this whole way,

fruit is not a dessert!

But, I’m not getting into that again. In closing, please note that I steered completely clear of going for the obvious joke of substituting the word “crepe” for a more off color one. That wasn’t easy.  My seven year old, on the other hand, couldn’t help calling them “Creeps.” She can be such a child sometimes.

See you Monday for National Roasted Leg of Lamb Day! (YUM!)

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Booze, Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy National Crepe Suzette Day! (5/6)

  1. Laura - Not Susie Homemaker - Huff says:

    I feel as though I were making and eating this alleged dessert with you, so thanks! No need to ever perform either act.

    • Jim Clark says:

      Awesome, and thank you, Laura! I feel that if eating a year’s worth of daily foods on this ridiculous list can save just one palate just one “acckk!” reaction, it will have all been worth it.

Leave a Reply

