Happy National Coconut Cream Pie Day! (5/8)

Today is National Coconut Cream Pie Day.  Today also marks the beginning of a season that I am here by naming, “The Summer of Endless Sweets!”  According to the list that I have dedicated myself to following (and in hindsight, I really should have shopped around a little for a more well-balanced list before I took on this commitment), over the next thirty-five days, only four are dedicated to non-decadent dessert items, and two of those four exceptions are completely cheese based.  I shouldn’t mind so much, but I’m trying to lose ten pounds while all this is going on, and although I am still going to pull it off, it’s not quite as easy this way.

Now that I’ve gotten all that messy complaining out of the way, IT’S COCONUT CREAM PIE DAY!  Cream pies are the best.  They’re made of creamy stuff.  Plus, coconut is just magic.  It’s a nut, right?  But, it’s got that crispy, yet chewy texture, and it’s also got that gentle, light sweetness.  What other nut can say that about itself?

I went to buy a few slices of coconut cream pie on my way home from work, because they’re available everywhere all the time, and I was not about to make one after having made an awful Crepe Suzette and an admittedly amazing roast lamb leg over the past two nights.  Of course, today there were no bakeries that had prepared coconut cream pies available.  Tomorrow they will each have twenty, but today there were exactly none.  I even counted twice just to make sure.  The only option that was left to me was a Marie Callendar frozen coconut cream pie, but I didn’t want to buy that big old frozen thing! I truly just wanted a slice.  I would have bought a frozen slice, I guess, but not a whole frozen pie!

So, while I was standing around, feeling very grumpy about things, I angrily looked over a couple of recipes on my phone, and suddenly realized that I was being a complete tool because a coconut cream pie would take me all of eight minutes to make and I already had the entire ingredient list at the house.  Well, everything except for the little mini-custard cups.  They were a stroke of genius because I really did not want to make a big dumb pie.

Just Add Chocolate

Another stroke of genius was busting out a quarter cup of bitter-sweet chocolate chips and turning the mix into mini chocolate coconut cream pies. Now, looking at the photo up top again, I really should have thrown a little coconut onto the tops of the pies for aesthetics, but my daughter really isn’t a fan of the stuff, and the fact that she devoured the stirring spoon made me not want to push my luck.  These little things really were ridiculous!  Make them for your family and you too can be an instant hero (my wife ate two!)

See you Wednesday for Nutty Fudge Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

