Happy National Cherry Cobbler Day! (5/17)

We covered the nature of a “cobbler” back on 4/13, during National Peach Cobbler Day, so I’m hesitant to readdress that it’s named as such because it is virtually “cobbled” together, spooned and floated onto the filling, so that the fruit filling can kind of goosh through a bit. Yes, I am quite hesitant to repeat myself that way.

Just a little more than five years ago, I used to not like cherry pies because of the fruity nature of the dessert, but since discovering my alergy to raw, delicious cherries, I have now come to realize that outside of the few maraschinos I get in my Shirley Temples, this is the only way I’m going to ever get that delicious sweet meat without my throat swelling up for a full fifteen minutes, the whole while desperately attempting to scratch the back of it with my tongue.

Still, such fruit pies are really sweet!  They’re so syrupy.  So, I thought if I took matters into my own hands, I could dial that sweetness back a little. Ok, that’s not 100% true.  The truth is that I couldn’t buy a cherry cobbler anywhere, so I had to make one.  The frozen desserts section seemed to have everything but.  They had blackberry, peach raspberry and apple cobbler, but no cherry.  So yeah, I had to make a National Cherry Cobbler Pie.  You know what, though? I wasn’t even real grumpy about it.  This week, I had taken off of work to spend more time with family anyway, and what better definition of that is there than making a pie with your daughter and serving it up to the wife?

Still, there was the sickly sweet syrup to contend with.  Sure, I reduced the sugar a bit, and washed the cherries really good, so that took care of some of the sweet, but it occurred to me that unorthodoxing the cobbler a bit would do wonders for my palate.  Typically, I just can’t stand or understand a bland shortbread crust, but today it just sounded like a good idea.  To make a cobbler, you would typically just pour the syrupy goo into a pan and then slop the batter on top, but today I found myself thinking, I bet a little more breading would help absorb some of that sweet!  You know what?  It did.

Cherry Cobbler Pie

Simply by reducing the sugar by about 1/8 cup and using a frozen pie crust as my cobbler pan, this thing was a fantastic cherry dessert that had a reminiscent taste of cookies.  If you bump into that insta-cavity feeling like I do, give this a shot.

See you Friday for National Cheese Souffle Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

