Happy National Cheese Souffle Day

Today I made my second souffle! Seriously, how many people can honestly say that they’ve made two souffles in their life?  Now, is it true that I was much more excited about making the chocolate souffle than the cheese souffle?  Well, I don’t know what could give someone that idea, besides the fact that a chocolate souffle is made almost exclusively from chocolate and eggs, and a cheese souffle is made almost exclusively of cheese… and eggs.  I’m not throroughly sure what made it so, but a chocolate souffle sounds like something your absolutely going to have to have, and the other one sounds like something you’re going to absolutely be made to try. 

Of course, it wasn’t as funky as all that.  I mean, how do you go wrong with a bunch of cheese melted together, even if most of the cheese in question is one that I’ve never heard of.  Grueyere Cheese?  Yes, I’m sure I’m the only one who’s never heard of this stuff, but it was seven bucks for 4-ounces, and that’s pretty steep considering I usually just stock a block of generic medium cheddar, a block of Amish swiss, and a can of Kraft parmesan in my fridge.  Grueyere cheese is one of those hard cheeses that has a bit of those crunchy bits in it. You know, the kind that you tooth pick off the plate at a finger food party, and then immediately go back for more of all the other choices except that one?  Regardless, once melted all cheeses are the same.  Absolutely delicious!

Turns out that a cheese souffle, although cheesy and not choclatey, is pretty good.  In fact, the excessive eggs and flour make it almost equally as rich.  It was quite unexpected. I mistakenly served up a big clump of the souffle, thinking that it just looked like some kind of quiche, and slowly began to feel quite unwell from the saturation of gook in this thing. 

So, I leapt to a hasty judgement, and for that I would like to say that I am truly sorry, Cheese Souffle! You are cheesey and quite good. 

Before I go to bed, there is one other thing I’d like to mention about this fairly simple kitchen creation. It’s a really great side to make with your kid.  My daughter is seven, but I think with the right bit of parenting, this thing would be fun for kids aged five through fifteen.  It’s got cheese grating, egg busting, mixing, melting, simmering, blending, and the best part is that since it’s cheese based, all ages can not only feel proud that “they made it,” but most will actually like and eat it.  That kind of recipe is hard to come by outside of pancakes or cookies.     

See you Saturday for National Devil’s Food Day

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Entrees, Food, Lunch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy National Cheese Souffle Day

  1. emmycooks says:

    I’ve never even made one souffle! I’m impressed. 🙂

  2. Jim Clark says:

    This one was way easier than the chocolate one I made, even though not nearly as satisfying to eat. It was also relatively cheap to buy the ingredients (inspite of my rant about the cost of the fancy cheese). But the thing that’s really cool about a souffle is that it gives you the feeling that used to come with getting the proportions on those high school chemistry experiments right… Ok, that’s an assumption, I never got those proportions right.

Leave a Reply

