Blame it on Quiche Lorraine!

Quiche LorraineAll this time, here I’ve been making bacon, eggs and toast for breakfast for my family, trying to time all three of them to come out at the same time, when I could have just throw the eggs and bacon into a pie crust, shoved it all in an oven, and set a timer for thirty minutes!

It’s National Quiche Lorraine Day, and it’s just… well, let me go back.  I’ve never made a quiche before.  In fact, the only quiche I’ve ever really had are those little tiny ones that come in frozen finger food variety packs. Those are mostly crust, so it never really occurred to me to wonder how they were made.  Do you know?  Here’s what I wish someone had told me a long time ago,

A quiche is scrambled eggs poured into a pie crust!

Sure, there are variations.  Want a spinach quiche?  Add some spinach to the eggs.  How about a shrimp and asparagus quiche?  Care to guess?  Quiches can be in a crust, or you can just grease a pie pan really good and pour that sucker right into a pie pan or a little sauce pan.  Of course there are all kinds of little variances you can throw in a quiche, just like there are for cooking simple eggs.  Add garlic, cloves, cayenne pepper, onion, truffles, it just doesn’t matter, as long as you use some milk and/or cream and pour the whole mess into a pie-like configuration.

The Ingredients of My Quiche Lorraine

Quiche Lorraine has as many varieties as a “Western Omellete,” but the recipe that I went with seemed to have numerous similarities to many of the others that I found, eggs, milk, cream, bacon, and none other than Gruyère cheese.  Just two days ago, on National Cheese Souffle Day, I was writing that I had never heard of this stuff before. Now, I’ve already dropped fifteen bucks on it!

Too Much Bacon? Never!

Ok, SHHH!! Here’s the secret to a really great anything that’s ingredients include cheese and bacon, add way more cheese and way more bacon than the recipe calls for.  This recipe called for a cup of cheese, so I added a cup and a half.  It also called for three pieces of bacon, so I added seven.  I also threw in scallions because the picture of a quiche that comes into my head has speckles of green in it.

So, did I have too much?  I guess, but I refuse to take responsibility. When you gotta blame it on something, I learned long ago from Milli Vanilli, to blame it on Quiche Lorraine.

On a side note, thanks to this list, I now have three half full pie pans in my fridge.  An Apple Pie, a Cherry Cobbler, and now a Quiche Lorraine.  Please, someone come help me eat these!

See you Tuesday for National Vanilla Pudding Day!

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Lunch, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

