Happy Vanilla Pudding Day! (5/22)

May 22nd is National Vanilla Pudding Day.  What a hook, right?  If you’re still reading (and I guess you are), I totally agree with you! Designating a day to celebrate Vanilla Pudding feels as off as celebrating “National Spend the Night in your Pajamas and Go to Bed Early Night.”  Yet, there it is on the list, National Vanilla Pudding Day.

Still, after living forty years as a white person, I find myself feeling a strong kinship with this day of celebration, as well as the flavor of vanilla in general. Vanilla is used to describe plain, undynamic, boring, and those same words have become quite acceptable as definition of the coinciding skin color. It’s a funny and bonding sort of racism that we can all enjoy and play along with.

Where would we be without vanilla, though? After all, it’s the go to flavor of ice cream that you want with any slice of warm pie, and a scoop of it will accommodate any topping you can think of. But, it’s still just not an exciting topic, is it?  That’s basically why there is not a picture of vanilla pudding at the top, because who would ever click on an entry boasting a picture of a bowl of vanilla pudding?  It doesn’t exactly thrill a reader with excitement. Our modern societal cult of personality has made such an association impossible.

That’s why I made cookies.  Back in March, I already made vanilla pudding as part of the National Banana Cream Pie Day, anyway.  It was too easy, basically as easy as making instant pudding (simply heat, stir and refrigerate), but I didn’t want to let myself off the hook that easy.  Today I would expand my horizons, by finding a recipe for malted vanilla pudding cookies.  Unfortunately, this was not the best recipe to try because one of the ingredients this it used turned out to be an ingredient that had been left over from a previous recipe that the baker had made, so my result looked quite different.  The cookies themselves were a bit of a disappointment, not quite moist enough or something, so I only had three.  You know what they would go great with, though?  You got that straight, vanilla ice cream!  Oh yeah, that is happening.

See you Wednesday for National Taffy Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

