For several months, I’ve been tracking this list of National Food Days of the year. I’ve been meticulous in following the list’s lead by making and/or eating the exact thing that was directed.  Some of the things on the list were a little challenging.  I’m really not much of a baker, and living in a little town like Tallahassee some things are not real easy to come by.  Finding a Baked Alaska wasn’t easy, preparing a blueberry popover did not come out well at all, but National Brown-Bag-It Day really stumped me.

At first I thought maybe, to keep up with the theme of the list, I was meant to bake a turkey in a brown bag.  I remember my mom had done that for a few Thanksgivings.  This idea left my head fairly quickly however, partly for reasons of logic, but mostly for reasons of practicality.  I’m not going to roast a whole turkey for my family of 3.5.

In Hindsight, I bet I Looked Pretty Creepy

It was likely a better bet that “Brown-Bag-It” meant to put a lunch in a brown bag and bring it to work. This, however, didn’t configure on several levels.  See, I took this week off of work, so today my wife and I went out to lunch.  Plus, the nature of the calendar year would drop this day on a Saturday (2013) or Sunday (2014) anyway.  I did carry a couple of snacks around in a brown bag, though.  Also I kept my wallet, my cell phone, some gum, and a pen in there, but to be honest, I really felt silly walking around with a bag.

The last option that I thought was viable was that today was some sort of “Green” holiday.  You know, for the environment? So, instead of plastic I had the bag girl at Publix use paper.  Did you notice that while at the same time California grocery stores are banning plastic bags, Florida ones are pushing them?  It’s true!  They don’t say, “Do you want paper or plastic?” No, not anymore.  Now, they all say, “Is plastic alright?”  See what they’re doing there?  That’s a biased question.  It’s the kind of question you find on political surveys.

So, the short of it is, I brown bagged it.  It was stupid, it barely had anything to do with food, but no one could possibly deny that this May 25th, I brown bagged it.

See you Saturday for National Blue Berry Cheese Cake Day!

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in environment, Food, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

