(It was a) Happy National Donut Day!

The List has declared that June 3rd is the day to celebrate the donut, but this is not so. The List says that it’s celebrated “the first weekend of June” each year, but it’s not. It’s celebrated the first Friday of June each year. How ironic that virtually every one of the National <insert food here> Days of the year on The List are unverifiable and mostly made up, and this one, which is actually real, is listed on the wrong day.

National Donut Day was something that was inaugurated back in the 1930s.  The Salvation Army claims they began the holiday as an attempt to raise funds by honoring a group of women who served donuts to soldiers on the front lines during World War I.  I really don’t see how this raises money for anything now though, because Krispy Kreme and several other shops usually serve free ones.  Well, they serve free ones on the real National Donut Day.

At my work, we have a Krispy Kreme Friday tradition anyway, so it would have been nearly impossible for me to miss the holiday, but I guess it was kind of neat that this list was completely inaccurate.  It gave me an excuse to do donuts twice.  I simply woke up, took my family’s donut orders, stumbled down the road to the Dunkin Donuts, and brought back a half dozen with a coffee.

Hey, remember “The Doughnuts?”  It was an old 1960’s movie they sometimes played in school, like when Summer break was about to start.  It was about a guy who had a doughnut machine and somehow a really expensive bracelet falls into the batter.  I remember everyone gorging on doughnuts to find the bracelet.  Guess I just dated myself (or my school) pretty good there.  Oh well.  Happy belated Donut Day.

See you Tuesday for National Ginger Bread Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

