Happy National Gingerbread Day! (6/5)

There once was a woman who took the phrase “bun in the oven” a little too literal.  The result was, when her child was finally brought to term, he jumped straight out! It doesn’t stop there though, no!  The cocky little jerk immediately ran away from home, mocked his parents as well as everyone else he met throughout his entire life until he met with an early and extremely gruesome death.

Well, what would you expect from a main character whose very premise is riddled with copyright violations and plagiarism.  The gingerbread boy himself is nothing more than a tastier Pinocchio.  In later versions he rides on the back of a fox, across a pond, and dies, and that just screams of Aesop.

June 5h is noted as National Gingerbread Day, but I’m not making a loaf of gingerbread tonight.  I already have a loaf of pumpkin bread or some other such sweet stuff in my freezer from a 2-for-1 that I scored last month. You know, come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a loaf of gingerbread in all of my life. Gingerbread cookies, I’ve seen. Gingerbread men? Platoons of them march into my mouth annually. Gingerbread houses… well, I’ve really never had any use for them, but ginger snaps, ginger ale, ginger dressing on my salad at Japanese restaurants, this guy’s a huge fan!  But, I really don’t think anyone’s really ever even making actual loaves of ginger bread.  If anyone’s ever made a loaf of ginger bread, please let me know, because I think it’s fake.

Now, in the land of cookies, gingerbreads are kind of dangerous.  As a point of clarifcation, when I describe a dessert as dangerous, I’m talking about something that is so light that you feel comfortable eating six to ten of them.  Cheese cake is not dangerous, I sometimes fill up after just four bites.  Shortbread Girlscout cookies, on the other hand, are dangerous.  I’ll down a sleeve of those things inside of ten minutes if the right movie’s on.

One More Before Bed

The gingerbread cookies that I purchased from Fresh Market today, were thin, light, delicately spiced, and super dangerous.  Big too!  I had one with my lunch, one for the road back to work, and one while I was making dinner tonight.  Also today, my wife ate three.

… ok, I also was eating one while I typed this out.  There!  Happy?

See you Wednesday for National Applesauce Cake Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy National Gingerbread Day! (6/5)

  1. Alicia says:

    I’ve never made a gingerbread loaf. But I have had a slice of it before. I think it was a Starbucks, or another coffee shop. And what’s with gingerbread in June? Seems like whoever created “the list” should have put it closer to the holidays. Oh well, I love gingerbread!

    • Jim Clark says:

      Thank you, Alicia! Now you’re my new best blog friend (we’re bbf’s)! The List loves revisiting last season’s memories for some reason. I mean, I’ve done a few “Friends-givings” in July before, but this list made me make a plum pudding in… was it April? No, February.

      How was the ginger loaf… I mean, like, compared to pumpkin bread?

Leave a Reply

