Happy Chocolate Ice Cream Day! (6/7)

It was only a few days ago, on June 2nd, that I proudly proclaimed myself to be a vanilla person and not a chocolate person. No, not in reference to the color of my skin! I know fully well that white people can’t do that. So, to be here in the midst of National Chocolate Ice Cream Day felt a bit awkward.  Brown may be the color of my booze, but it’s just not usually the color of my ice cream. When I stand there in front of an ice cream cooler, I’m always looking at the Cookies ‘n Cream and Chocolate Chip Mint, but not so much the chocolates.

Back on National Rocky Road Day, however, I kind of cheated the system by getting Ben & Jerry’s “Rocky Road-ish,” which is a vanilla based knock off of the theme, so I knew I owed The List an apology with a full committal to National Chocolate Ice Cream Day. Tonight my daughter tested for a blue belt in Taekwondo, so celbration was certainly necessary anyway. In the picture, mine’s the one on the left. I don’t mind some sprinkles, but only in a child’s mind does it make sense to add jelly beans to an ice cream cone.

Marble Slab’s “Double Dark Chocolate”

The way I played today was with a scoop of double dark chocolate in a chocolate dipped waffle cone with a bit of coconut thrown in for a bit of chewey crunch. There were plenty of choices in the dark vein at Marble Slab, Chocolate Swiss, White Chocolate, Chocolate Birthday Cake, but on chocolate ice cream day, I figured this is what would be considered most true to the holiday. 

My wife, who is a severe chocolaholic, went with the Red Velvet Ice Cream on today’s National Chocolate Ice Cream Day. This struck me as odd at first, but then it occurred to me that she might have reacted to a National Chocolate Ice Cream Day the way regular Sunday worshippers often do towards the Easter and Christmas only crowds that they suddenly encounter, crowding them out of their regular pew — kind of territorial.  Red Velvet isn’t much more than chocolate with some red dye in it, anyway, but I get it. 

So, the chocolate ice cream was good. I never once thought that chocolate ice cream was bad. It is good. And for the record, I’m actually a freak for dark chocolate candy bars (especially the Dark Chocolate Milky Way Minis!). But, I suppose it’s kind of like how I can’t order the fish when prime rib’s on the menu. When it comes to ice cream, I’m sticking with the vanilla based scoops.  

See you Saturday for National Strawberry-Rubarb Pie Day.

 

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

