Happy National Peanut Cookie Day! (6/12)

Let me tell you something about eating a different food practically every day of the year from a list that is composed of mostly desserts, you wind up with a house full of crap!  My cookie jar has never seen so much action. I really wish I had the kind of friends who like to come over and hang out for a while because I could use some depleting of my inventory. You know, I’ve also got three pies in the fridge? Now, I love me some cookies and pie, but I’m about ready to celebrate National Celery Day. Since that’s not going to happen, however, let’s get to the matter at hand, National Peanut Butter Cookie Day. 

My top 15 most favoritest cookies in the whole world are as follows: G.C. Thin Mint, Keebler Grasshoppers, G.C. Samoas, chocolate chip macadamia, chocolate chip, sweet pecan toffee, Pepperidge Farm mulattos, shortbread, sugar, gingerbread, Russian tea cake, fortune (not the lemony ones), chocolate chip oatmeal, peanut butter, and molasses… in that order. So, I guess what I’m saying is that between their “ready-made” availability, the fullness of my cookie jar, and today’s cookie’s ranking on my list, making a batch of them did not seem like the best plan. 

Instead, when lunch rolled around, I snagged a packet from the convenience store. Grandma’s cookies hold a special place in my heart. Well, the name does anyway. When I was eight or nine, my family was traveling home from an excursion through the Ozark Mountains, when we pulled over to “rescue” a box turtle from the middle of the road. That was one of those rare times that the old, “Can I keep ’em” trick worked. My dad pulled into the closest gas station and told me to go grab a box to put him in because I certainly wasn’t going to be keeping him in my lap the whole trip.  After several minutes of rustling around in the back, the clerk came out with an empty Grandma’s Oatmeal Cookies box.  It was barely bigger than the tortoise itself, but Grandma did fine in that box, and she thrived in South Florida. She also proved to be a he when I introduced her to a native.

As far as Grandma’s peanut butter cookies go, I suppose they’re as good as anyone elses. Grandma’s brand has the texture that I like in a cookie, soft but crisp. I don’t know why I’m not a fan, I’m just not. I mean, peanut butter is nice on a sandwich and all, and sometimes it goes well between a couple of crackers, but on the whole, I’m just not big on the stuff.

Truthfully, I don’t think this cookie is really anyone’s favorite because when a variety platter is set it out at a party, take a look at what’s always left sitting there at the end. Yep, the peanut butter cookies! Also, those weird mini sweet pickle things. Those are gross.   

See you Wednesday for National Kitchen Klutzes of America Day.

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

