Happy National Strawberry Shortcake Day! (6/14)

My mind was racing all day today. I couldn’t help it, it was National Strawberry Shortcake Day! No matter what I thought or did, there were two things that kept running through my head, the jingle used for the Strawberry Shortcake toy commercials back in the 80’s (isn’t YouTube really weird sometimes?), and the fact that I was going to get me one of those Good Humor’s Strawberry Shortcake ice cream bars. They’re just so great! I really did want to go get a real straawberry shortcake, but since I currently have a German Chocolate Cake, a Rhubarb Pie, and an Applesauce Pie in my fridge, all piled on top of each other, I wasn’t interested in bringing a whole strawberry shortcake into the house to on top of them.

There is joy frozen in that ice cream bar!

In hinesight, I guess I could have bought a pack of those little shortcake minis that sit next to the strawberries in every grocery store I’ve ever been to, but honestly I completely forgot about them.  Let’s face it, the ice cream bars are way better anyway. Have you had one of these things? They’re absolutely delicious! If you haven’t ever had one, or even if you have, please allow me to give a word of advice, though. I know it’s tempting, but do not lick/suck the last little bits of ice cream and shortcake off of the stick when you’re done.  It’s a brutally difficult request, I realize, but if you do the final lick/suck, then the last taste in your mouth will be a yucky chemically wooden stick instead of this amazingly yummy treat.  So, now go get you one of these things from just about any and every gas station and convenience store in the entire United States so that you too can feel this refreshing joy!

Fresh Market’s mediocre but expensive lobster chowder

At this point in the entry, the celebration of National Strawberry Shortcake Day is closed. That’s because today I had to jump lists real quick. There are many lists, and there are many varrying opinions on what food is to be celebrated on what day.  A friend of mine pointed out to me early this AM that many others were reporting today to be National Lobster Day. I’m really no good at passing up a reason to eat a bit of lobster. So, I bought a really expensive cup of lobster chowder and took it home. Crab and lobster chowders are usually pretty disappointing because there’s never enough meat in there to make it worth it. In that regard, the soup I bought did not disappoint. It needed more meat.

I’ll see you Saturday for National Fudge Day!

About Jim Clark

"If it was worth doing, then it is worth writing!" -- Jim Clark -- Someone else probably said that before, and I'm sure that each semester she starts her Creative Writing 101 class by writing it on the board, but I never took that lady's class so I am taking her quote! I work in the world of advertising, but I write for a living. Here in the second decade of the '00s, we find ourselves in a culture where virtually everyone writes for a living. With all the clicking and clacking on Facebook, Twitter, emails and texts, our lives are more than ever intertwined with writing. At the same time, it's also become increasingly more important to shorten our thoughts down to as few characters as possible. So, now, more than ever, I think it's also important to hold a place in our lives for expanding and honing our thoughts through writing. This is my place for that.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy National Strawberry Shortcake Day! (6/14)

  1. 92P1087 says:

    According to the Trends sidebar, it’s National Lobster Day. GOD, the things that make me tear up. Miss you, Tony.

Leave a Reply

